You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem blockchain has got its very first cryptogame: Steem Monsters

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Interesting idea. There area few other games on here , but they're less tightly integrated and are more like old-school play-by-email with games. (Cryptoempires and steemnova come to mind.)

Why have we not seen more games on the Steem blockchain?

the answer all boils down to the fact that Ethereum has ERC20 tokens

I'd also add two other big things:

  • participating in these games or other dapps (like musing.io) can really jam up your main account feed, since the major ways we view the blockchain don't have very good filtering for the majority of users
  • the lack of smart contracts makes it harder to implement.

You're right about SMTs changing things around. The speed and lack of transaction costs is also very nice. I briefly played with cryptokitties, mainly because I was interested in the genetics system, but having to pay up to ~ 50 cents USD and estimate how much gas to give it was simply, not fun.

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure Musing fixed that issue. Last time I used it, it didn't post to my Steem account.

Oh, I have never heard of either Cryptoempires or steemnova. Seems that I might have been incorrect in my title then!

The two points you bring up are also good ones. It's very annoying that most dapps so far clutter the post feed, and this is definitely something that needs to be improved if we want to use lots of different dapps in the Steem blockchain.

I briefly played with cryptokitties, mainly because I was interested in the genetics system, but having to pay up to ~ 50 cents USD and estimate how much gas to give it was simply, not fun.

Same here. It feels terrible to pay for each single move, and it really limits the game in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30