I Have Joined the Monster Fight!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

OMG! What have I done?



If you haven't heard, Steem now has a card game called Steem Monsters.

Steem Monsters is a collectible card game where card ownership and game results are all published and verifiable on the Steem blockchain.

The people putting together Steem Monsters just opened it for people to purchase card pack using STEEM or SBD and it was extremely successful. They need to get some of what they made into Steem POWER, so their upvote is actually worth something.

Some people apparently were more zealous than others. @berniesanders bought 221 packs at $2 a piece and managed to get all of the cards. Whales on Steem, Whales in Steem Monsters.

I haven't done this sort of card game before, but I believe that you play certain cards against a competitor and if your winning hand or card beats the other players, you win. I bought the starter pack and some booster packs. I didn't get any Epic or Legendary cards. Hopefully, it won't matter and I'll still win something.


steemmonster.png

As you can see, each transaction gets a unique ID to help prevent fraud.

Every card will have a unique identifier and be recorded in a custom_json transaction on the Steem blockchain, along with the associated purchase or transfer transaction. That way card ownership can be independently checked and verified.

What do you win?

STEEM, SBDs, upvotes, Cards, and Card Packs may be up for grabs!

So, basically by the cards is an investment in hopefully winning more STEEM/SBD. I currently am trying to do that with Steem NOVA and a poker game run by @drawacard. I'm guessing that Steem Monsters will take more time that Draw A Card and less time than Steem NOVA, since I only have to worry about my cards being attacked when I go into a tournament.

There are ways to make money from Steem Monsters outside of the game as well. They are looking for people to contribute to the lore of the card characters. The method of payment is flexible. They also are looking for people to create a World Map and will giveaway booster packs to the top creators.

I'm looking to hire some authors that want to get involved with this game from the creative side. Every summoner will need a backstory. Every monster will need a short quip and a page long backstory of where it lives, what it does, who it hates, why it fights, and something akin to "A Day in the Life of a Pit Ogre."

I'll have to see if this was worth my SBD investment. The exchange rate between STEEM and SBD had me pondering what to do to get the most out of my SBD. If I can take a little gamble on it and earn it back playing a card game, then it will be a worth the 10.983 SBD investment.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png
Steem Badges

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


DestroyAllBots.png
Trading on Bittrex and Binance
Claim Your Stake with a Stake Box
HODLin’
Stellar Lumen(XLM) -- Cardano (ADA) -- Digibyte(DGB)
Get your old school text-based gaming on.

Sort:  

I also have buy my starter pack and some booster. Unfortunately not get an epic nor legendary.

They figured out the way you can give them money before they figured out the game mechanics it seems to me.
Don't get me wrong,
I'm not calling scam,
and the game may very well be enjoyable.
I'm just saying, I'm supposed to pay $5 before I can find out how the game works at all.

Well, they are basing it off similar games.
And, yes, they don't have the code ready for the game itself or trading the cards.
But, it's not like we are using real money.

They should move all of the STEEM they have now into Steem POWER. If upvotes are a reward, they need to be able to vote more than a Minnow.

Well, that's my point kind of...
They are basically croudfunding to create the game right now.
But they should at the very least give a demo first.
You say it supposedly will work similarly to other games.
But Which games?
Is it going to be a similar game to MTG? Hearthstone? DnD? Game of WAR?
To me it seems like that should be the very first thing to figure out before one takes any "donations".
Otherwise we're just buying really expensive .png files.
STEEM's supposed to be "real money", is it not?
I'm just being sceptical, sorry.
I'm this kind of paranoid person.
Anyway.
As for right now, you're basically help building a whale for them.
Which is different than delegating SP to a bot.
You can not get your money back this way, if they fail to deliver.

Hey, that's why I only put a little bit of SBD in. It's not going to bother me if I don't get that amount back. I too am a little skeptical, but, I'm willing to take the gamble.

I will wait for a little bit and see how the development go.
If they drop some actual info on mechanics, maybe I will go earn some money on steemgar to put into it. xD

Hey great post @deanlogic! and tnx for stopping by my blog 👊 Steem Nova looks interesting, will have to take a look see..

Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Hopefully Steem Monsters is as fun than Steem NOVA.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 34 SBD worth and should receive 127 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Ha ha... me too.... just spent 10 SBD like it was nothing. Oh well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65637.68
ETH 2661.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81