You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Observations From My Steem Monster 2-Way Market Test

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Thank you @jarvie... I was hoping you read it and gave me your opinion. I also want to see your post, so when you put it out could you either tag me or just DM me on discord? I will also try to keep a lookout for it and love to see the "math stuff" too... They are vital to understanding the underlying mechanics and show the limits that human emotions can be stretched!

Sort:  

I like that you classified 4 different types of people interacting.
Also while there may be 50 high quantity volume buyers I bet there are barely 10 consistent buyers on the market and not packs.

I think that the market prices adapted from but were mostly created by a couple particular people.
The prices worked together (or did until gold)

However I thin the logic that chose those prices was a little skewed. Mostly because we have a grasp on just how much better a legendary is than an epic or common. Therefore most pricing is rarity based. And when utility comes into play or we understand stats better these prices will ALL CHANGE

Also like I said the introduction has to reduce the pricing of the rest of the cards.
And finally pricing didn't really up or was very slow to react when the price of steem went down.
This market correlation is almost a must cards are fixed to USD not steem.

Which leads me to this... USD should be the price of cards and I'm not sure why it isn't.

But like i said i'll try to juggle a ton of these things in the video but i'm in an area with almost zero internet ... so that will wait.

Plus you did a way better job of organizing your post... I think i have to do video because otherwise writing something is gonna take FOREVER. haha

@jarvie You bring up some very awesome points here... I agree with your analysis that prices were initially set by a few large buyers and completely agree that the more "rare" pieces have gained almost a "gotta have" feel to them. When we actually see the rules and the points and values assigned to each card, then I think we are going to find that a lot of assumptions were flat out wrong. I have personally been buying epics on down... I only have a few legendaries that I pulled initially from packs in the beginning (and one I got in a large deal as a sweetener)... I think you are going to be right in your implication that the legends are carrying too much value, but as you said we will find out when the rules come.

As far the as the pricing being reflected based on USDs... I think we are in a way too sloppy market for that (right now).... These are the very early days and the prices are still fluctuating based on the day... I do think you will be proven correct in that thought though and as long as they stick to the drop rates and the usd price per pack, then I think it will definitely be the case over time.

I look forward to your analysis and you video, if it is out let me know and if not, then if you can send it to me via DM that would be awesome!

Awesome post Dave and glad to have you over at monstertraders, @jarvie you hit the nail on the head with everything changing when stats come out and that the cards should be valued in USD, We've already been discussing doing that because it would seem to be the best determiner of value as the tokens go up and down. Once stats come out certain cards will have a value of there own within the type sets i'm sure of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45