3 Key Points Now That Steemmonsters Has Started!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

steem monsters logo.gif

red-diamond.gif

I'm sure that if you have paid any attention at all, you will know that the battles have begun. People can now login to their Steem Monster site (click here) if you've never been there.

There are tons of questions I'm receiving since play started, and I will begin with the 3 most important things (in my eyes).

red-diamond.gif

Play, Play, And Play Some More!

#1 Its a great way to practice, so this is how you will learn. You can play the game and get "ranked" and don't have anything to lose. In fact, even if you do lose while you're under 100 points, you don't even lose those points with a loss. So its a true win/win.

red-diamond.gif

Mismatches Are Normal, So Don't Fret (or Brag)

#2 The random matchups try to get teams close to "even" so that its a balanced fight, but sometimes there are big mismatches. Do not worry about this. It is not a reflection of you or your team, it is simply because we are new and there is much everyone is learning (including the computer algo). As we get more players, then the games will get closer and closer, so definitely don't get discouraged with a loss (or overconfident with a win). ;)

red-diamond.gif

All Teams Can Be Beat

#3 Everyone is learning together, but one important point is to realize that all matchups can be beaten. This is a great way to learn how cards play at various levels. Some cards improve a ton as they level, while others don't seem to be as significant as others catch up. This is an aspect that I find amazing, so if you are curious like me, then try your hand with many different teams and many different lineups "at many different levels" to learn!

red-diamond.gif

If you have any questions or would like any help, just ask me in the comment section. I'm always happy to help anyone at any time, and in particular with this amazing game!

Most Of All, HAVE FUN! :D

red-diamond.gif

Sort:  

i'm not a huge fan of steemmonsters (mostly just due to personal taste) but thanks for sharing :)
card games just never got me excited. if they had some kickass art (again, this is matter of personal taste) or something innovative, i might start playing. for now i'll just enjoying reading about them 😆

:) ... I understand... I know a lot of my friends are on both sides of this too... Some really like it, and others are like "meh" lol... Its ok with me, I think the good thing is it gives us something positive to talk about these days :P

as a kid i played a shit ton of magic the gathering but that was the last card game i ever played lol
i don't think any other cards got me as excited. maybe nba cards back in the 90s..

i'll wait and see if steemmonsters can bring something new and exciting and start that fire in me again 😄
i'm also interested in other new dapps&games coming to the steem blockchain. maybe one of these things will kickass and bring steem to the masses, who knows 😌

100% Upvote Post!...even though mine is not much haha

Check out this mismatch...and I actually one thanks to the Giant baby!

62366DBE-0B0A-4EEB-8796-AF6037FFEAA5.jpeg

lol... Yes I've seen my fair share... What team won? lol

The Peaceful giant team!

yes that team has whooped me quite a few times :P

I think a mismatch I had this morning must beat them all @heyimsnuffles @davemccoy. All my cards are level one and I was matched against this.

golds.jpg

You can see 3 of them are at level 3 but aren' they gold foils too? I thought they had their own games.

And something else I don't get. I thought the cards you play could only match the level of your summoner. The summoner in this team is level 2.

Hey Gillian! Yes that's the kinda mismatch I was explaining... As we get more players these won't happen... They do normally play people in their class, but if there isn't anyone then it will matchup someone on each side of you. As we get more players it will naturally fix itself.

On the golds, they can play with the regulars... All of them play and you can play your golds too.

But this brings me to your last point... You are correct about the summoner... but the summoner has a table that will tell you what levels of each rarity can play... So a level 2 rare summoner will play and level 3 common and a level 2 rare and level 2 epic and level 1 legend. Here is the chart for the rare summoners.

Thanks for the help @davemccoy. 😊

You're welcome Gillian!

Good points @davemccoy. I've been finding the mismatches quite hard to deal with so it's helpful to know that things will improve with time.

You can play the game and get "ranked"

I'm a bit confused about this does it work like this . . .

you can play as many games as you like in practice mode

When you play in ranked mode you can play 100 games and it doesn't matter if you lose. Once you've played 100 games, however, you will lose points if you lose games.

You can play millions of games if you like... You will get "points" if you win by playing in the ranked system. Those are how it will learn what level you are playing at. You will get points added when you win and points subtracted when you lose (BUT ONLY AFTER YOU'VE CROSSED 100 POINTS TOTAL)

So play away, you will see... The more you play the more you learn and the faster those points will add up!

I'm thinking by the end of the month you will be over 3000 points Gillian, so no worries!

I'm thinking by the end of the month you will be over 3000 points Gillian

Ha, ha, ha. Wetting myself laughing @davemccoy. 😂

I'll be practising again tomorrow but unlike this time yesterday, I will be looking forward to it.

I promised myself I'd get off the computer by 10 tonight. I'm getting on for an hour over that. this really won't do. 😂

haha... you will see... just remember you heard it here first!

So far, only practice. Please explain the 'resource credits' (steem power?) and does that mean I should save my credits for play, or can I still upvote without worry? Trying to add more STEEM and power up today.

you can practice in the ranked games too if you like... but either way that is good!

And Resource Credits or RCs are new... They basically assign a value to everything you do on Steemit. If you are running into this problem then you can contact @llfarms and @abh12345 and tell them I told you to contact them. They have people that are helping out people that are new and encountering this issue.

As for playing the game, it requires the least amount of resources... so until those people help you out, then you might want to just play steemmonsters for now. You can play thousands of games with no problem, the cost of that type of transaction is very very low!

Thanks, Dave. You're always a big help_here and on Discord.

You're welcome and thank you :) ... If I can help anytime, please let me know!

Picture_20181022_191219036.png

Incredible @charisma777... you are so good that words can't even describe it... I'm speechless! Thank you :)

Awww thanks @davemccoy i am glad you like them!!!
Picture_20181022_195002705.jpg

of course I love it... thank you very very much @charisma777! You're incredible! :D

Hey @davemccoy!
If you are interested in the game, you will probably like our contest. 😉

153 SteemMonsters CARDS TO WIN!
⭐ 8 FULL SETS from alpha and GOLD GIVEAWAY!⭐
Click and check details in post ⤵

🔥 GOLD GIVEAWAY 🔥

Cool @the.tribe... I like this... I don't know if this is automated or someone I know, but clue me in and I will help :)

So good of you to coach ppl like me along Dave! I have been over here thinking i might loose my cards if i jump in without knowing wth i am doing. But, it seems that ... i will be just fine hahaha! Who knew!! LOLz. Ok, but first back to your tutorial posts. Eventhough, you break it down so well--- it's still mind boggling for me!! Maybe i will see you on the battlefield! Peace!! And, Good Luck!!

I'm happy to help Jill! And ask me questions anytime... I don't mind and no question is too small... And yes I look forward to seeing you on the battlefield :D :D :D

Finding the mismatches happened to me few times :)

Yes they are sometimes annoying, but I look at it the other way too... Sometimes I get someone way lower ranked than me and I say "ouch" :P ... It will sort itself out as people arrive and get more accustomed to everything... And the tourneys will be separated... This is basically practice!

I got to the 224 place and started getting missmacnhes a lot after itn

yes that happens in phases... its part of the system learning about who is a good player and what cards they have... Its actually working well in my opinion, but getting mismatched still irritates me :P

How people mixing together gold card and regular card with no gold summoner?

a gold card plays just like any other card... based on its level... the only difference is its gold... the gold summoners are needed to summon for the "gold only games"... those will be for the big players with super high prizes... so gold's have a premium for that reason, but they are just like other cards when not in a gold game

thannnnnnnnnnnnnnnks!n

you are welcome of course! I'm glad you are playing, I have some fun planned as soon as the Kickstarter packaged get delivered!

Cool. Can't wait to see how this evolves now it is live.

Me too... so far they've done a great job... And I think the potential for it to impact Steem could be better than most people think!

Have a great day!

Congratulations @davemccoy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83