The Unexpected Reason Steem Monsters Can Help Steem Reach Mass Adoption

in #steemmonsters5 years ago


Hi Friends!

Last night I was poking around the Steem Monsters battle page and decided to look through their “How To Play” tutorial section. It was good… like really good and it made me realize something. Steem Monsters has been able to accomplish something that few Steem based initiatives can claim… a full end to end user experience.

What do I mean by this? Let me explain.

A Full User Experience


What is one of the biggest hurdles to mass adoption? That it is so freaking hard to explain this place and how it all works. It is doubly hard when the person you are trying to explain things to has no idea what cryptocurrency is or how blockchain technology works.

Do you feel like you could just tell a random person you met on the street to check out Steemit.com and feel confident that they could figure it out on their own? Probably not. I know that anytime I tell people about Steemit – I mentally prepare for the fact that it is going to take a lot of guidance and explaining from me before they are self-sustained and running.

Want to know something crazy though?


I do feel like I could do that with Steem Monsters. Like I could just tell a random person I met to go to steemmonsters.com and feel good that they will be taken care of throughout the entire process.

Steem Monsters has done a really great job of making every user touch point – from the initial account sign up, to the battle tutorials super user friendly.

Playing battles, tournaments, and being able to earn crypto currency for winning all makes logical sense to people. AS does collecting cards and being able to buy, sell and trade in a marketplace. The whole concept doesn’t take a lot of explaining.

Video Walk Through


The second half of this video is a walkthrough of the tutorial section on the Steem Monsters battle page. I personally think they did a great job of keeping the information succinct so that people can get up and going quickly – but are armed with enough information to start playing right away.

944EF423-C3A0-47AB-AA68-C733C2BA5012.png

Shameless plug alert… If you are a monster fan you should totally come hang out with me and @littlescribe every Wednesday on the Steem Monster Show. If you head on over to @steemmonstershow, we have all the info right there.

The Same Moon


What’s cool about this – is that people are using the Steem blockchain, without even realizing it. The more people we have transacting and using the blockchain on a daily basis – the higher the value of Steem will be. Or at least that’s the dream.

I hope you guys enjoyed this video! It’s been really cool to watch the progression of Steem Monsters over the last 6ish months and I’m so glad that they have placed such a high value on user experience for non-Steemit people coming on board.

Sort:  

Greetings, dear coruscate

I say you look beautiful in this video, a lot. I also think that steemmonster can help bring more people here. Both steemmonster and other projects that add value can contribute. I have a hard time learning these rules of this game hehehe. There is a girl here in Brazil who puts it on him and it seems he loves to play it. Not quite my profile, but, I know a lot of people like it.

Thank you and good evening!

I think I will try this with people and then help them with the rest if they ask, this game is very addictive and fun. You should check out my blog if you get a moment, @ goldmatters gave me some awesome cards!

Oooh i'll have to check that out! That @goldmatters guy is always so generous! ;)

Thank you, but I think we still have a TON of work to do to better onboard new users and explain the game to them. No one really wants to read a huge bunch of text to learn how to play a game. We are working on an interactive tutorial where it explains what is happening for new players as they actually go through each part of the site.

Once that is ready I think we'll be in a good position to teach new people how to play, and I agree that other steem-based sites and services should work on a similar type of interactive tutorial.

@YabbapMatt... It's Great that You, @Aggroed and the SteemMONSTERS Team continuously seek to further UPgrade all aspects of the game.

@SteemMONSTERS may turn out to be "The KILLER" App for @Steemit... TIME will TELL..

BIG Kudos 4 Everyone Involved, including the Players !!

It needs to be an app rather than a website in my opinion. That way people can play it together on their cell phones wherever they go.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, definitely. We made it a website only because that was the way to get something out quickly and cheaply, but we are planning to do a mobile app in the near future.

Ohhh that's so cool. Steem Monsters has tons of potential! I'm glad the Monsters team is working hard to put out a good product.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome points @pwny. I totally agree that an app would make it easier to battle on the go throughout the day. Awesome to see @yabapmatt's response below saying it's on the road map!

It would be amazing if steem had a hit app on the play store. I think Partiko is headed in that direction. There's a large audience to capture on cellphones.😁

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not that much text or difficult to pick up.... about 45 mins maybe? You just gotta get stuck into it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome to hear that you guys are working on an interactive tutorial! I think what you guys have right now is super succinct and easy to understand - but that would definitely take it to the next level.

Some people learn really well from reading blocks of text - but I think your general consumer is going to resonate much more with something really visual and interactive. :)

Games could be the main use case for the STEEM blockchain!

Yup, known as a walled comminity, and you're right that it's the future of interacting with the STEEM blockchain 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

While I'm not a huge fan of the game at this point, I agree completely when you say

What’s cool about this – is that people are using the Steem blockchain, without even realizing it.

Not just cool, but fantastic. Future projects for other games and other kinds of apps should follow the same example.

Exactly! I think many more will follow suit.

Sooper video! Thanks for reviewing an easily overlooked part of the site!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you enjoyed it @nateaguilla! :)

Awesome video! :-)
Screaming Banshee (815px, 10fps).gif

Thanks clove!! That animation is amazing too!

It's amazing because it's allowed me to see Steem / SBD being used for something tangible on the blockchain. But it also goes beyond the blockchain so I hope that it does 'trickle down' into Steemit users. But with platforms like DTube happening as well, it's going to be an exciting time going forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99