Steem Monsters Rare Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 2 - Entry

in #steemmonsters6 years ago

Hey Steem Monster Fans

I thought I'd take a crack at the Steem Monsters Rare Card Fantasy Story Contest! and see if I could come up with an epic backstory for one of the characters. This week's backstory will be centred around the Alric Stormbringer, a Rare Summoner whose Element is Water.

Steemmonster

boarder

The journey of the Alric Stormbringer

My story begins not unlike many. I grew up in a humble little seaside town where life was simple and just. The community was a close-knit one, each family knew one another, and we all relied on the sea for sustenance and our livelihood.

The men and boys old enough to fish like me would go out to see to catch food and extra to sell for supplies we needed which were especially needed since we're heading into the winter months.

Braving the sea was not everyone's cup of tea, and the change in weather made things increasingly dangerous. Many families had earned their keep for the winter, but my father and I were still going out each day to try and find enough to last us through the winter.

Alric

One particular evening as we're about to finish our route and head back to the shore a boat approached us in the distance. This wasn't a boat we were familiar with since we knew all those finishing in this area, so it was probably someone who was last.

My father and I approached the boat without caution; these lost souls may need help. To our surprise, however, we're lead into a setup! It was a boat of pirates/sea bandits looking to prey on unsuspecting fishermen.

boarder

The day that changed it all

My father was quick to realise this and managed to fight off the intruders while I attempted to get the boat in gear and make our escape. They chased after us; we knew we could not lead them back home for fear of far worse, so we made our way to one of the smaller islands to try and lost them.

As the chase ensued, we had no choice but to head directly into an incoming storm. We were tossed around, the boat was lost, and death was imminent. I woke up who knows how long after to find myself on a beach on a deserted island.

boarder

Stranded, Cold, Hungry, Alone!

There I was lost with no hope, weak and not sure what to do but i followed my intuition. I needed to get my strength back if anything else so I went foraging for food when I saw the most fantastic fruit dangling on a tree. I approached the tree to pick one out when from out of nowhere a wild animal attacks.

I ran as fast as I could but there was no chance of escape, and just as I thought I was doomed I spotted a small entrance to a cave, I jumped inside and to my dismay slipped down a deep crevasse in a deserted cave.

Could this get any worse? In this pitch dark cave, I could see a glimmer of light which I tried to make my way towards. When I got close enough, it was not an opening but a strange glowing orb. I touched it and was immediately frozen, trying to fight it only made things worse, the pain was unbearable and even worse in my weakened state.

Then something deep inside me told me to quiet my mind, control my emotions and as I did that, the pain subsided, energy flowed through me like never before. I felt energised and restored when I opened my eyes however I saw a strange purple flame emitting from my left hand.

I used the light to find a way out of the cave. When I eventually saw my way out I noticed I had now grown a full-length white beard, I had aged like crazy, almost unrecognisable. The orb started to glow once again as if it was signalling something to me. I approached that tree I had tried to pick fruit from earlier the tree had an opening, and something within me told me to insert the orb into this huge trees opening.

I did, and the orb began to absorb the tree, and in a flash, it vanished only to leave me with staff with the Orb stuck at the end. For the next couple of days, I began to experiment with my newly acquired abilities and hone my skills.

boarder

A hero is born

Eventually, I was able to master the waves and transport myself back to my old seaside town. I returned to my home to find my father had made it back home. My family were safe; they had lost a son but also their livelihood as those pirates begun to plunder seaside towns.

I could not allow this to happen the once tranquil boy could no longer stand idly by I needed to protect my family, the oceans from those who wish to do it harm. I decided to follow the devastation these pirates had left and ended up in a few towns further down the coast; they were pillaging these poor fishermen as they had done to towns before.

I approached them and asked them to stop; they insulted my appearance. There was no reasoning with these brutes; they needed to be stomped out. It was time to put my new found abilities to use and I on the biggest storm and washed the pirates and their boats all out to see.

The villagers were frightened and I assured them that I mean no harm, that I heard to protect the sea and those who live by it. It as at this moment I realised I could no longer go back to my old life, Alric was no more. I was now Alric the Stormbringer!

boarder

Short version

A young boy cast out to sea during a storm discovers an orb on the island which transforms him the powerful wizard able to command the elements.


This is my entry for the @steemmonsters fantasy story contest. If you would like to enter you can find all the details in the original post here

Not into Steem Monsters?

If you don't yet have an account you can create one here and if you do create an account, let me know, and I'll send you your first card :)

For more info join their discord here

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cesc04 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 4.4% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.513 which ranks you at #6305 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 134 places in the last three days (old rank 6439).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #147.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Wow thanks for pickng my post, 150+ votes thats insane! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32