Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 7 - - - Leah Arken The Pirate Captain

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Leah Arken The Pirate Captain

          The Rusty Nail, not the nicest wharf rat nest in Durblain Port, but one she liked to think of as a home away from the sea. It was here she would take care of business. She was sitting with her chair tilted back and observing the whole room while she sipped on her mint tangelo wrangler. It tasted like it had halve a bottle of vodka pored in it, but that was just a cover, a slight lie.

          She took note of the crew of three staring at her, trying to get their courage up to approach her. She could see they were getting ready to head over, she un-tilted her chair, placed her knife on the table and reached for her drink. After taking a sip she put the drink back down, as the bravest began to speak. "hey missy how 'bout you and me have some fun" he managed to get out.

          She looked up at the semi drunk sailor, addressing the other two first, "if either of you interfere, you will die, plain and simple, so don't move, at all." she simply stated at them. Then she turned her gaze back on the brave stupid one, "so you want to have some fun do you? Well after that drink, I am in the mood for something also, I don't think it is the same thing you are after however. So here is the deal, you tell your friends to take no actions against me, and if you can kiss me before I slit your throat, then you can have me. How does that sound to you? maybe get lucky, or die trying? Your call."

          The sailor without taking his eyes of what he thought was going to be his prize, told his friends not to interfere. Then he suddenly lunged for Leah with a smile on his face. He died with that silly little smile. His friends did not even see Leah move she was so fast. She sheathed her knife, picked her drink up and downed it, and smiled to the other two friends. "he tried, how about you two? Want to take a chance love or death, your call boys."

          "uh no, no, that's alright, I think we will ah, ah pass up the chance" one of them managed to get out. Leah looked at the piss running down the leg of one of them and said to the other, "I think you and piss pants there need to get your friend there and then get out of the bar, because his piss, and your dead friends shit are ruining my evening". Leah took her empty glass and went to the bar for a refill while they dragged their friend away.

          "Damnit! Leah!, do you always have to make such a mess in my bar? Jamalian said as she approached. "Oh come now Jamalian, you know it is never my fault, I never start it. I do give them a chance, and at least I use my knife not the blunderbuss, so no one else gets hurt." she replied with a slight twinkle in her eye.

          "So has any one other then dumb, dumb, and dead, been looking for me, or asking question about me?" She asked.

          "Look I know it is not your fault, and I know you always want that first drink before getting caught up in the news, and yeah dumb, dumb, and dead were lucky to not be dead, dead and dead. First there is the mater of their tab for you to pick up, then I'll let you know the news. They owed me thirty loons". Jamalian stated with out so much as a twitch or blink of his eye.

          "Nice try Jamalian, at most it would be six loons, because you are not stupid enough to let the likes of them run a tab, so here's eight loons, six for their debt and the other two for the poor lad or lass that you get to clean the bloody shit stain up." she plopped twelve loons on the counter.

          "What's the other four for?" Jamalian asked. "I need a new first mate, call it a finders fee. Wallekin was a good find, and served me well, but well he found this Island girl, and I'm not one to stand in the way of a love contract bound by the ladies of the sea. I like my ships to stay in one piece."

          "I'll keep an ear open, I do know of a candidate, but I need to speak to him first. I am sure you noticed the gentleman and his party to the left. He has been asking about booking passage to an undisclosed location. Over in the back right corner there, is a man and woman who have been eyeing them all night, I do not think they have noticed the couple yet. They certainly have noticed you however and your actions." Jamalian said.

          "Okay, thanks for the info, here's another two loons, after I leave have Shelia deliver this note to the woman, and her friend. Your candidate, if he is willing and up to it, send him to my ship, you know I trust you. Just make sure he knows, that there will be no escaping the contract by marriage. If he signs on it is for the remainder of the season, seven months work and it will be work. Oh and if you can find me one; we could use a good cook also. The crew is getting tired of arguing over who's turn it is to cook, and we are all tired of the food options. We will be in port for the next four days, I'll check in with you in two days to see if you found me one, if you find one early send him over right away." Leah tossed two more loons on the bar, "one for you, and one for the cook fee. I, we, really want a cook". and with that Leah continued out the door to return to her ship.

          As Leah left the tavern, if one could call the Rusty Nail that, she turned to her left and started walking, after a few short steps she turned down a darkened alley just a bit past the tavern. She continued into the alley for about six steps, then stopped to listen. She saw the tail as soon as she stepped out the tavern, it was hard not to miss piss legs, because there was no reason to be standing around outside the Rusty Nail looking like your busy. She had walked slow enough that the tail should have seen her turn into the alley. Leah nestled into a slightly elevated alcove and watched and listened.

          "Well, where is she", dumb asked dumb. So now she knew both were there, now for the why of it. "I don't know she went into this alley, but I can't see a damn thing in there. You saw how fast she was with that knife. I'd rather take my chances with those asshole envoys from the fire beetles, than have to deal with her." dumb looked at his partner in crime dumb. So now she knew the real who, fire beetles.

          Piss legs looked at dumb, "yeah, I think I am going to try the next town and find a ship to sit on. Scrubbing decks is a better life than this cloak and dagger shit, I just was not made for this crap". "Going somewhere boy's, said the spider to the fly" a new voice called from just outside the alley. "I don't think you will be flying this coup boys. Sinestra will not be happy that you lost the one called Leah Arken. My Queen had high hopes for her, and now you three, well two, have gone and made it a mess." The Spider Assassin quickly caste a web of immolation on the two of them and watched them burn to ash.

          "I know you can hear me Leah Arken, as your fathers father was made to serve, so will you, or you will die. I am Anitalia, fourth cousin thrice removed from her Majesty Queen Sinestra. As I raided your father's father mind, I shall raid yours and control you as a puppet like him." Anitalia hissed into the Alley way.

          Leah readied herself, she drew her saber, with her left hand and her bowie with the right, as she stepped into the center of the alley. "So the mighty Anitalia has come to try to subdue me. Come forth said the fly to the spider and lets see what lives insider. You sent three idiots for me, you have slipped Anitalia cousin thrice removed from your Queen. This will be the last time you are removed from the Queen, I do not think you will be crawling back to her." With that she gave a soft whistle and stepped forward.

          Anitalia cast web after web at Leah as she rapidly approached her. Each web being cut to pieces to fall around her, each piece that landed on Leah melting away in liquid steem. "Who are you?" Anatalia yelled in a shaky voice as Leah stepped closer and closer. "I am the granddaughter of the one you enslaved long ago, I have heard, and felt my grandfather by my side since I was ten years old. I have lived his pains, and carried his hopes and dreams of freedom inside of me. We were joined as Granddaughter, grandfather, in the manner of my peoples teachings, of which you know nothing." and with those last words Leah raised her saber and removed Anitalia's head from her body.

          "Lakin, good you are here, take this head and deliver it to the four Fire Beetle envoys in the Rusty Nail, after dropping it on their table simply turn around and walk away. I'll see you on the ship in a couple of hours." Leah turned and continued her walk back to the docks and her waiting ship.

          "Shit, oh mighty god of war. I have know that little lady since she was eight. I have been with her through hell and high water. I have never in my life seen someone wield saber and bowie so quickly, she was like a whirlwind with those." Lakin looked over at Risallia, shaking his head in wonderment. "She is truly blessed by the gods.'

          I hope you have enjoyed my interpretation of the Pirate Captain Card. With Leah, I am going to try to do like I did with the first six cards, and develop a tied in storyline for the next six cards. As you can see I already have a slight tie-in to the first storyline.

          Here is the link to @steemmonsters story contest entry. Steem Monsters Common Card Fantasy Story Contest! // Week 7 I have been having a lot of fun learning to write these little stories, I am not a writer yet, but I feel as if I am getting better, so take a chance on yourself, and try your hand at a short story.


All images from @steemmonsters


This account protected by @dustsweeper
Sort:  

I like how you made your story with history, of a lineage of servitude and how she dispatched this one.


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10