To Power-up or to Power-down is the Question

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

Hello friends

This post is to seek your advice on the above question.

Many of you might have noticed that I no more author posts as frequently as I was doing before the HF-21. In fact, I have already indicated about this a week before the HF date.

I knew that my presence on this platform was meaningful to this community only until the "big" talent arrives here in hordes. And then these talented individuals will take away all the attention from people like me. I've a hunch that we've almost arrived or soon going to arrive at that stage ...where people like me should announce retirement of the sorts.

Frankly, I'm not a community person by any standards. The feedback and the reactions to my blogs after the Hard Fork have already conveyed me their message that I'm an unwanted element here ...and I respect it. However, I still write sparingly as I still fail to see the expected level of quality content here. But I eventually intend to stop altogether.

Of course, I'd like to wait and see what communities and SMT brings up or I may continue to write sometimes in tribes like SteemLeo ...like this post. It's possible that I can find some tribe or community where I might belong but until that time I'd like to stop making posts.

The Pareto Principle


According to the Pareto principle or the "80-20" law of the vital few, 20% of Steemians make decision for themselves and the rest 80% of the Steemians; for what kind of content should thrive here and how the reward pool should be shared. (However, it's not the case here. It's less than 0.01% here). What more, I don't see the diversity in this vital 20% community members. In fact, over 80% of these 20% 'vital few' harp on the same string. This could be because the community isn't sufficiently large enough yet. Although over 80% of the total account on this blockchain were created after mine, not even 20% of those are active here. So Pareto's principle doesn't seem to hold true as of now.

Oh, but how does it all mater! Looks like I'm digressing from the subject of this post. So let's come back to the crucial question:

Does powering up STEEM make any sense?

Prior to HF-21, I was thinking that powering up STEEM will be very rewarding after HF-21; as curation reward will increase to 50% from the earlier 25%. But then I decided to wait and watch first. So the result?

It's been a month to the HF-21 now but personally I don't see curation rewards inviting enough to me for a power up.

These days however, I see a lot of biggies powering up and making a power-up posts; like they have done the best thing ever. But somehow I'm still not very convinced.

Here's my earned curation rewards' curve:

image.png

I don't see any improvement in my earnings after the HF-21. In fact, I see the curation earnings for most of the accounts has in fact decreased after HF-21.

My monthly curation rewards are about 1% p.m. of my effective SP. I may improve a little on it but it's not easy for me. With some more attention I can take it to about 1.25%p.m. at best but I am not the best of curators. And with the rampant downvote culture, it's also a risk to upvote posts with high potential payouts.

In fact, I see the majority of curators are earning between 0.66% to 1.5% per month only. Considering these figures, my 1% reward isn't that bad. Thus my effective return on investment is 12% APR plus some negligible vesting interest of about 1.25%p.a. But my STEEM holding share is also decreased by about 8.33% STEEM inflation. So effectively, I earn less than 5% APR through my curation efforts.

Even if these rewards were 15% - 18% p.a., it won't be too lucrative to me.

Now a days there are several opportunity to stake your crypto and earn several fold better return than this (without doing any effort like curation work).

Considering this, is it any wiser to power up my STEEM holdings? Or should I be powering down?

Well, this assumes that I am not going to author any post or comment. Of course, when I curate posts, I do at times leave some comments too. But HF-21 has actually discouraged voting on comments. Comments weren't earning any significant rewards anyway.

But I may also author posts sometime. Since HF-21 has encouraged manual curation, the ones who gonna upvote my posts will upvote them anyway, irrespective of my SP holdings. We are not actually expected to do any vote exchange (because quality matters over relationships!). So that doesn't encourage me to hoard SP.

The only reason to hold SP, it seems, is to lock STEEM as a long term investment to gain from its appreciation in the future. TBH, I don't feel the current changes are going to push STEEM prices upwards in a short run. I don't see any major appreciation before SMT launch ...though I may be wrong here.

However, I'd like to hold some STEEM until SMT and until communities rolls out. I may like to invest in some SMT if it's of my interest and if that entice me to post actively here. But these are just some possibilities I'm considering just because of my long association with Steem chain. Otherwise, a nominal SP is sufficient to carry out normal transactions on Steem blockchain.

So why should I power-up and not power-down?
Am I missing something in my thought process?
Are there better opportunities for earning curation rewards than what I'm seeing now?

Please enlighten me on this issue.

Thanks a ton!

Sort:  

I don’t see why you would be unwanted. We all bring our own value of sorts to the community. If someone says you’re unwanted then they likely themselves are the ones needing a reality check.

I’m all about powering up so for me this one is easy. Power up. Unless you have something you want to use liquid steem for, then powering up is the best option. Steem is cheap, it will only become harder to earn, and if you are powering up now, then you won’t have to say to yourself, “why didn’t I power up my steem when i had the chance.”

Curation-wise, make sure you are using the tactics that align with the Hf changes. I made a post about it here

Respect

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for your encouraging words!
But frankly, I didn't get your reasoning for powering up. Honestly, it doessn't come that easily to me at this moment. Yes, I agree that STEEM is cheap but so are many other altcoins too!

And thanks for linking that article of yours. I did go through it, it's all good. I also checked and found that you are also earning in the range of 1.5% monthly curation only. So it doesn't make a strong case for powering up. I'm still exploring and looking for some strong reasons to actually click that power-up button.

Thanks for your input though! Upfunding with !UFM 10

What I do instead of powering up for manual curation is to power up and fill lease requests. I receive nearly 3 steem everyday for Delegation and once my sp replenishes when the lease expires I fill another for more passive income and growth to eventually power up and do all over again. A strategy I just recently starting doing and have really been increasing my stake rather quickly.

It’s literally the exact same thing SPinvest is doing to grow their SP investment club

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now this is a good idea!
Yes, SPInvest does the same and gets about 20% APR. That is surely better than doing all the curation work and gaining only 18-20-% if you did really well. Leasing will at least give you assured return.

Community is already here, as tribes. Tokens such as LEO will be piggy begged on SMTs to be traded in external exchanges in future. Moreover, earning equivalent Steem could be easier in some tribes, you have to research. May be the tribe community will be more welcome your blogs since they can resonate with your interest.

If you are powering down and sell, you are making the worst decision that inexperienced traders make: selling at the all time low. If you don't like blogging due to criticism then delegate SP to dlease.io, forget about Steem for couple of years. Try to sell at the next altcoin bull run whenever it returns.

I believe that only depending on Steemit/Steem is hard for small fellows. Finding a right tribe can be awakening. I have substantial amount of LEO, my 100% vote is equivalent to 3.2 Steem (16*0.2). Not bad comparing my 10 votes in LEO is almost 32 Steem where I can receive 16 Steem. My investment is much lower than Steem in considering in price.

You can see through my blogs-- they are mostly about tribes and economics of the system.

Thanks a lot for your advice!

I too feel that tribes could be an option and I do notice that many tribe tokens are earning better curation than STEEM in terms of STEEM but I doubt about the long term value of these tokens. Most tokens have lost value and volume after launch with a very few members active in them. With a varying degree of inflation for each community, true price discovery will take some more time for these tokens. So it's very early days to choose which of these will survive and thrive in the long run. And even if I choose to invest in tribes, it doesn't answer the question why should I power up STEEM as SP?. If not STEEM, I can invest in any other project and tribes could be one of those options.

However, I appreciate your investment in LEO as imho, this has emerged as the best managed niche among tribes. But unfortunately, I've sold out all my LEO tokens and miners.

Secondly, powering down doesn't equate with cashing out. I've already indicated that I may invest in some other cryptos. Since all alt market is down, it doesn't make a huge difference in swapping STEEM with other cryptos at this stage too.

I liked your input on LEO curation figures. It does make sense at current price of 0.20. Earlier I was thinking the same for PAL when it was above 0.40 but lost a big time when the token prices crashed. But LEO tribe has got a good niche and purpose. So I'd like to congratulate you on investing heavily in LEO.

Upfunding with !UFM 10

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Steem-engine tribes are a good place to find your voice and niche.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't agree more. I too find it better to invest in tribes than STEEM but ain't very assured of price stability or appreciation in long run and won't like to go all in for tribes tokens. Actually, imho tribes at present have a very lean base and their management is too centralized ...in most cases being run single handedly. So even if we can trust the present administrator, it doesn't make me very comfortable as for how long the show will go on.

But is there no strong reason to power-up STEEM? I wonder what's making others power it up!

!UFM 10

Steem is here to stay and you have the choice to keep going or stop using it.

O' c'mon, I do know that I've a choice and that's why this discussion here ;)

Hi, @xyzashu!

You just got a 0.5% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @xyzashu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.000 which ranks you at #4036 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 88 contributions, your post is ranked at #62.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to xyzashu! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

The New Steem is way better, you just gotta figure it out, don't power down, find your niche and curate with your stake and you'll get increased returns.

Currently there are a lot of curation groups and whales curating amazing content, there's no need to buy votes. If you buy votes, you'll eventually receive a downvote to discourage the buying of votes from bidbots. We kindly invite you to join us on the #NewSteem attitude, where good content receives votes and the organic content get the most attention. Buying votes hurts you, other authors and the Steem Ecosystem in general, please don't do it.

As a curator, would you please like to enlighten me on what should be the biggest motivating factor for an investor to invest in SP? Personally, I don't find RoI through curation to be competitive enough vis-a-vis other opportunities. So why STEEM?

Is STEEM only for investors who don't know about better investment opportunities or the ones who are very confident that this asset is going to outperform (or at least match the highest performer) every other asset out there? I hope there sure are better arguments in favour of STEEM. Do share if you know any.

TIA!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @xyzashu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75