People Who Invest in People

in #steemleo5 years ago

When I first joined the Steem community, I was a bit stary eyed. The promise of making money quickly grabbed my attention. I needed money and I needed it fast. Being unemployed and depressed is a tough combination of life circumstances that can drive people to do crazy things (like sign up for a Steem account).

I quickly learned that my unrealistic, lofty dreams were not going to be fulfilled instantaneously. I quickly realized that networking was going to be hard work and that I would have to labor to hone the craft of creating content. I quickly realized that I would have to practice delayed gratification - working hard today in anticipation of enjoying the results in the future.

And despite all of the "slap-in-my-face" realizations, I am still here.

jacek-dylag-PMxT0XtQ--A-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Jacek Dylag on Unsplash

Why Am I Still Here?

The simple answer is authentic, genuine connections with other members of the Steem community.

One of my first Steem memories is meeting @reddust. You will see her Steem user-id scattered throughout my posts over the last two years or so. Why? Because she made an impact on me.

Honestly, we have very little in common. We did not connect because we both live in the Midwest, although that is true. Our bond is not shared faith. On the contrary, our faith stories have very few similarities. @reddust always impressed me with her artwork, while I prefer to draw stick figures.

No matter how different we are, I knew she cared. How? @reddust responded when I reached out to her. She invested time and energy in thoughtful replies to my comments. She showed appreciation as a larger Steem account through upvotes.

Unfortunately, @reddust cannot be as active in the Steem community as of late. I do hope she will return someday to post butterfly paintings (they were beautiful). It was her kindness in those early days of my journey that helped propel me to where I am today and encourage me to stay the course despite all of the struggles. Let's be honest, we all struggle sometimes!

Filling That Gap


As of late, I have been particularly blessed by @dswigle. Her kind words and generosity are acts of encouragement for my heart. In some ways, she has become my modern-day @reddust.

Both of these ladies have shown me kindness (think of it as a social investment). Their examples and their actions have encouraged me to be a blessing to others and have convicted my heart when I have not done so. As I have watched them both, I am reminded of the type of Steem community member I would like to be.

The following are some thoughts that I hope will guide my Steem journey. These are some of my "people investing" principles.

  • Do for one person what you wish you could do for all people.
    There is not a single person in the world who should bear the burden for every act of kindness. We all share the responsibility of being kind to those around us. When we cannot impact the lives of everyone, at least impact the life of one person.
  • Be willing to give without the expectation of receiving.
    Let genuine, authentic relationships be the ultimate reward. Treat financial rewards as a bonus. When you focus on people first, you may be surprised by the reciprocity of others.
  • Show grace - treating people better than they deserve.
    We often find people in low moments in life. Since we cannot see everyone's internal struggles and pains, we need to be ready to offer kindness even when it is hard to do so. Loving the unlovely is a challenge.

Final Thoughts


I believe that investing in people within the Steem community is as important as investing in technology and the platform. Strong relationships are anchors that will keep people involved with Steem. And as we grow together, our influence and reach will grow as well.

I want to hear from you.

  1. How do you invest in other members of the Steem community?
  2. Tell us about someone who made an impact on your Steem journey.

Thanks for stopping by!
@SumatraNate

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.501 which ranks you at #2135 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 124 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Investment in other users is so needed here on steem. I got very lucky and was supported by @stellebella and @fulltimegeek, their kindness to me was contagious and I just had to pass it on as much as I could

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a few Steem heroes who inspired me. Without them I would not have made it so far in this journey. I believe one of the greatest qualities of people with contagious kindness is that they take time to engage people who consume their content. I appreciate you stopping by. Best wishes as you keep teaching people about Excel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67657.28
ETH 3498.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70