# 618 - 1904-O Morgan Dollar

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

In 1878 Congress passed the Bland-Allison Act. The Act required the U.S. government to purchase large quantities of silver and turn it into silver dollars. Named after its designer, United States Mint Assistant Engraver George T. Morgan, the Morgan dollar is one of the most popular of all American coins. It's large size, abundant supply, and pleasing appearance make it both affordable and desirable.

Morgan Dollars were struck without interruption from 1878 to 1904, then again in 1921. U.S. Mints that produced Morgan Dollars include Philadelphia, New Orleans, San Francisco, Denver, and Carson City.

It weights 26.73g with 90% silver purity.

I am basically a commemorative collector but I have a few Morgan and Peace dollars, slabbed and not slabbed and I will show you some of them.

This is the 1904-O Morgan dollar, slabbed by PCI, the fifth/sixth third-party grading service for coins, according to the Professional Numismatists Guild (PNG).

The 1904-O is one of the most common Morgan dollars in high grade. With a mintage of 3.72 million pieces, this might make sense. However, this date actually used to be considered one of the rarest in the entire series. In the 1960's, many uncirculated bags of 1904-O Morgans were found which completely crashed the market for this date.

The obverse has semi-prooflike fields and it depicts a profile portrait representing Liberty.

20191113_154540.jpg

The reverse depicts an eagle with wings outstretched. The mint mark (S) appears on the reverse above the "o" in "Dollar".

20191113_154625.jpg

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

Morgan’s are absolutely a favorite US Silver Dollar! Thanks @ronaldoavelino 🌺🤙

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have not found the Peace dollars yet, but I am looking for them. They are somewhere... :=)

Thats a beauty Ron

I know that you love Morgans. More are coming...

Always a weakness of mine @ronaldoavelino!😊
I love how on the Morgan’s you can get that rainbow effect!👍😊

As it is a big coin, it is easier to notice.



Hey @ronaldoavelino, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Thank you ronaldoavelino! You've just received an upvote of 3% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Thank you for the upvote.

Hi, @ronaldoavelino!

You just got a 16.51% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you for the upvote.

2.485 USD in 3 days, 6.405 USD left

Can I get some more Cards?
I am looking for Gold Foil Flesh Golems, Goblin Sorcerer, Kobold Miner, Skeletal Assasin, and Haunted Spider all Gold Foils.

My friend, could you explain something to me? I went to steemworld and added all your upvotes from the period above. It was $4.01582. As, since 10/15/2019, you upvote me with 52%, that means that the sum related to the cards should be 48% x $4.01582 = $1.92759. That is a difference of 28.9%. How?

That might be because of the 2%. The way I calculate is I go into your profile and tally all the upvotes from me using Busy as that is easier. Then I just half it for example if in 3 days I upvote you 6 USD then I just half it to 3 USD paid.

As for the 2% that I cut for the convenience of calculation I add it later on when I buy new cards from you via this calculation.

2% of my 100% vote which is around .65-.75 multiplied by 2 since two posts per day, multiplied by the number of days which is usually around 20-30 days.

That might be the reason you see the difference. It has been 22 days since I purchased the last cards so currently I still owe you an extra 0.68 USD which I will add the next time I purchase cards.

Yes, that might explain the difference.
About the cards you want, I have:
2 x Flesh Golem lvl 4= 2 x $3.1
2 x Goblin Sorcerer lvl 4 = 2 x $2.68
1 x Kobold Miner lvl 4 = $1.78
1 x Skeleton Assassin lvl 4 = $2.75
4 x Haunted Spider lvl 4 = 4 x $2.48

So what's the total for those?

BTW do you have the Gold Foil Beetle Queen?

How many do you want of each?
No, but I have a golden foil Chicken.

Surprised!
This coin is older than I am.
!BEER

All the silver dollars are older than you, or me (I am 70 years old). The last one was minted in 1935.



Hey @ronaldoavelino, here is a little bit of BEER from @cloudblade for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37