Why Hodl your Steem? Thought's on Pre SMT's and Steem at 0.13$

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

images (17).jpeg
Source

Hello readers, I bet everyone who spends an ample amount of time on the internet have a few favorite websites they spend more time with than the others, for some it maybe websites that are Sport centric, for others it maybe websites about fashion, food, it could be from a wide range of options, if you ask for mine, I wouldn't think twice before I tell you Steemit.

Lets take foodnetwork for an example, I bet there are people who spend more time on that website than anywhere else, whether to perfect their cooking crafts or to basically just learn a few recipes. I happen to fall into the second category though, just the other day I went in search of learning to prepare this delicious meal, Chili Verde with Sausage and Pumpkin, don't ask me why, it didn't turn out as seen.

1480974669063.jpeg

From: Food Network Magazine
Chili Verde with Sausage and Pumpkin

After going through the post, you'd notice the comment section, a feature also common to majority of websites and to give a comment, one has to sign in with their google or facebook account, it all ends after making a comment, or better still replying anothers comment or even more likely, not commenting at all.

However, what about having the ability to reward those comments with a token that could be held or traded for fiat? for example, Foodnetwork Token - FNT to reward engagements on the site, I bet with such feature the amount of comments on each post on foodnetwork will sky rocket. Not only the comments, but also the posts are rewarded. And who rewards them? Every user with a stake in foodnetwork! Hello SMT!


Screenshot_20191024-235949.png

There are millions of websites already on the internet and still to come, with Smart Media Token technology, there is a chance for visitors to be rewarded by each of those websites for contributing content to their platforms.


According to Internetlivesource there are over 1.5 billion websites on the world wide web today. Of these, less than 200 million are active.
Source

Why does rewarding website visitors matter?

It goes without saying that having a lot of visitors in a site generates traffic, any site with a lot of traffic can monetize it in a myriad of ways, one of which is generating leads and AD revenue, incentivizing visitors enables such website to develop a more consistent and loyal customer base which inturn improves it's Ad revenue. The existing system doesn't care how valuable a visitors contribution is, it is very self centered.

This is why I'm going into some sort of contract/relationship with Steemleo, well mostly in my head anyway, but also in their books. Steemleo say's,

Posting & browsing from the https://steemleo.com interface is one of the most important things you can do to support the #steemleo community. That's why we have instilled the @leo.voter program to upvote content that is posted directly through the SteemLeo interface.

Need to see more, maybe read the entire post, it's juicy I promise you.

My point is, I see where this is going, or at least I have a Vivid idea. Time tells a lot in cryptosphere and I've been able to absorb so much of its lessons by living through it.

If you're on steem and you've not been living under a rock in the past few months, you're probably earning more than one token by posting or even commenting. I like to refer to them as SMT lite's, others like to call them tribe tokens, and I will admit to have made some poor choices of investments in some of them, but more importantly, few of those investments are really paying off.

LEO.png

SteemLeo has had my heart since it's inception, I'm quite comfortable with its level of approach in showing its 'vision and works' to make that vision a reality. I've been able to almost double the stakes I invested in 3months by curation and delegation and all I can think of is how to get more value from and into my stakes there.

So you can see where the contract comes in, I post, surf and curate through Steemleo so we can get better AD revenue which inturn helps burn Leo to improve its tokenomics(in the opine that every stakeholder does likewise), maybe in future Steemleo will have its standalone App which will also contain a browser, for more usage right? Maybe.

SteemLeo recently launched a DEX, which makes sense to me, as an "accelerator" it presents itself to be amongst others, a DEX might make sense, although the DeX is not yet spectacular, I see it as a baby being born, what that baby will become, I don't know yet, it all seems like parts of a skeleton coming together limb by limb. This also has effect on its Ad revenue.

The lesson here is not to base investments moves in this sphere on fictional utilities but rather practical utilities as we can see from Steemleo, in the near future this chart will make a lot of sense to innumerable amount of people and will need to be updated, I call it communities cheat sheet, I found it on @midlet post few days ago...

6VvuHGsoU2QBt9MXeXNdDuyd4Bmd63j7zJymDTWgdcJjo1Vp97m9x2q9suuz4PVbceH7k92JtNjsz1av4J1DT3qCsL8fF6FoJp4ffSo731ftHGfBmcxUWkdjNwk798.png

I extremely believe this is self explanatory as it relates to ingredients that contribute to a healthy tribe/community tokenomics, and the implication of what we see here are quite evident in tribes tokens, incase some of us are still wondering why our wallets balance's are depleting so much. Talking about wallet balances depleting, Steem did not disappoint, sitting at 0.12$ at the time of completing this post.

...

You must know at this point that I like to do my own nooby research and won't say what I don't know. So I went to read the SMT's whitepaper again from the beginning for the 10th time, but this time I saw something interesting, SMT's have been in development for 3 years with its testnet just launched few weeks ago, I don't see a better time to acquire steem than now.

According to the whitepaper, demand for Steem is beyond speculation and voting power, SMT's are the real demand for Steem, wait, I can explain. If websites see value in rewarding their users, then boom, if you're holding steem, you're a winner, but if websites don't think so, I hate to say, you know the rest, but what are the odds?

Maybe we should ask publishing websites on the tribes on steem engine...Hello @khaleelkazil, how is the idea of owning a publishing website, is it a worthwhile investment? I don't even need him to say anything, my wallet and the blockchain tells me everything I need to answer that question.

If it will take an already established website just 3 steem to create an SMT at steems current price or even lower, just to have access to the features SMT's offer, then I think a lot of 3 Steem will be swallowed up.

At some point, ownership of stake in Steem is going to mean so much more than it does now, and I'm sorry to say what you think you have might not even be enough. I pretty much believe SMT's will be a catalyst to steems price, but I don't expect it to be over night, it might take years fam!

This will likely be the pattern going forward and with my tiny experience, many websites will seek to fundraise, assuring all kind of appealing utilities, ofcourse nothing is set in stone, there is no 1 ultimate formula to running a successful token, but there's crypto common sense, in this case, SMT common sense, not necessarily tokenomics.

This is going to be real fun! It's like being in ERC20 era all over again, I need all the Steem I can get before then. What about you?

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

SMTs are providing a "sink" for STEEM. What you state is correct, there is no way that sites will not be interested in rewarding their users.

It is going to be commonplace within a couple years on the Internet. Sites that do not reward their users will fall off the map.

The SMT protocol will be the first one of its kind on the Internet. We are going to see an exciting time the first few months after it is released.

Thanks for your thoughts, I just read your last post and it seems to correlate with this, and I totally agree that Sites that do not reward their users will fall off the map, it is a special case of "join them" or "loose them" scenario....this will be fun

Enjoy a $trendotoken from MAPX! Please also take a look at @MAPXV and @MAXUV as MAPX tokens almost run out.

Congratulations @map10k, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @mistakili!
@mistakili will receive 1.36113413 TRDO & @map10k will get 0.90742275 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you for posting from the https://steemleo.com interface 🦁

Congratulations @mistakili, your post successfully recieved 1.36113413 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@map10k earned : 0.90742275 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59274.98
ETH 2600.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44