No Risk, No Reward

in #steemleo5 years ago

mouse-trap-helmet-blurry-background.jpg

Most of my Steem activity revolves around simply publishing my own content, or talking about ways to improve the user experience on Steem. I've spoken before at length about how I feel like this is the main barrier to us bringing on more users. The majority of the world has never heard of Steem, so they don't know anything about our economics or our problems.

Now even though I don't talk much about it, I am just as interested in Steem as an investment, and with new SCOT tokens entering the fray, I'm looking at those as well. Not only from the angle of it being a powerful tool for community building, but also as an investment.

The short answer is that these are all very high risk, and that's great, because typically the highest risk can also give the highest reward.

Without a doubt, after the dot com bubble burst, tons of people got rekt and there were plenty of people saying, told you so to the investors that invested in dot com businesses, but there were also those people that throughout all that saw something valuable. They cut through the noise and went heavy in on businesses like amazon or ebay. It would be incredibly risky to invest in something that's down in the dumps like that because it might just be holding on for dear life before a final death spiral, or it might be finding it's foundation for a future surge into maturity.

Because of the nature of crypto currencies, it's common that someone will literally just GIVE you the investment in their token, so your only risk is whether to pass up the immediate value they have at the moment of distribution. You don't need to risk any of your own money initially. In my mind, this is no risk.

I would say don't dump your tokens as soon as they're airdropped to you except I want your tokens, so dump away lol.

I'm not a huge stakeholder with Steem, but I'm not building my stake with the hopes of selling it one day for a huge return. I have an amount of Steem, or PAL, and now LEO, that I'm bringing in by being an author as well as a curator. My goal is for all of these tokens to become valuable enough that they would be worth selling some of my liquid earnings. If Steem went to $20, I wouldn't cash out my entire stake(I'd probably put some into stable coins to retain some of that value, I'm not stupid) I just wouldn't power everything up anymore, that's the ultimate goal for me.

Your Steempower/PalPower/LeoPower is your goose. You don't sell the goose, you sell the eggs. You feed the goose so it grows and can lay larger more valuable eggs. If you sell the goose, even if you sell it for a good price, you just got rid of the value generator.

Of course there is a chance that some huge pump could be the last pump before a major crash that you never recover from. There's always a chance of that happening. Therein lies the risk, but...

No risk, no reward.

Sort:  

Sounds about right, except I call those geese, seeds. Fruit trees take a long time to grow. Eventually there's some fruit to pick. Then one can eat.

Yea, you're not going to get many nutrients just from the seeds. Wait until the fruit is ripe.

I’ll admit, I kept my PAL but sold LEO. My main reason was LEO is just not a tag/community I see myself participating in much. Should some of these Tribes really succeed I think it’ll also reflect in the values of the platform tokens STEEM and ENG, so I’m hedging by moving to those and freeing up the curating stake for those who will put it to better use!

Depending on how much you got, it might have been worth it just to curate, with the rewards split at 50/50 it might not be trivial.

I have been inspired to Power up my airdropped Leo tokes right now hehehe.

I am also glad that I staked the Pal tokens I received last and because of that I have earned the same figure in Leo coins.
stakeleo.png
I have feeling that this method that Leo token used to airdrop has woken up many people and next time they will not just dump their tokens.!!

I have a few folks who are regretting why they dumped their Pal hahahaha.

It is sometimes difficult to know whether a project will succeed or not. Sometimes you just have to to take a risk and go in (as long you do not die hahaha)

It would be incredibly risky to invest in something that's down in the dumps like that because it might just be holding on for dear life before a final death spiral, or it might be finding it's foundation for a future surge into maturity.

Awesome! Lets make it a great platform! :)

I will look for a way to always participate here so that we can make it big!!

well said. I am hanging onto my pal and leo, although I don't log into those to curate. I don't have a lot of room to curate because of backscratcher . I'm not complaining about that mind you lol.

I made a second account so I could have individual control. I'm hoping LEO will activate delegation soon so I can curate through my second account.

smart but very time consuming for me. I'll just take my tokens and do the best I can. Im always hoping that steem will be the winner in the long run but it's all a gamble.

Interesting thought. The phrase "No risk, no reward." is like "if not pain not gain". Thanks to share.

Yup, similar line of thought :)

Excellent article @midlet

You have to take care of the goose, keep it with a lot of special care, as well as the environment of the goose.

If the environment gets sick, the goose gets sick. You have to take care of the goose and the environment.

The environment in Steemit would be the community!

Absolutely, the environment has to be maintained as well :)

The more people sell their airdropped LEO and PAL, the more it will be for the rest of us who want to power them up.

Posted using Partiko Android

There is always a risk when you invest. What people can do is to minimize the risk. People always try to maximize the return and minimize the risk. Thank you very much for sharing your thought about investment.

A non risky man will hardly be successful. Sometimes risk makes us to be successful if only we can

Dumping free tokens is the first common mistake many people know yet, they're still doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46