An investment which is a bit out there

in #steemleo5 years ago

I developed a big interest into investing.

Not necessary the usual with stock, bonds etc for some reason I developed an interest for investments which are a bit out there.

There is art, wine, whiskey and even comics.

But for some reason one really caught my attention.

Magic cards


lla1xlk617.jpg

Little Flipstar used to play that game back in the days and I have not really thought about it for several years till I stumbled over a youtube channel which focus is on investing into those cards.

What is magic you ask? Let me quote wikipedia for this

"Magic: The Gathering (colloquially known as Magic cards or just Magic) is both a collectible and digital collectible card game created by Richard Garfield. Released in 1993 by Wizards of the Coast (now a subsidiary of Hasbro), Magic was the first trading card game and has approximately twenty million players as of 2015, and over twenty billion Magic cards produced in the period from 2008 to 2016, during which time it grew in popularity."

Even in our digital age there is still a demand for physical cards also when an online version of the game was released.

I am still looking into it and unsure if I jump into it. I have no interest in playing the game anymore but somehow I enjoy investing into collectibles.

As far as I learned there are mutliple ways to invest into magic.

  1. You buy cards from the reserve list like the well known Black Lotus and Power Nine for example.


yp1u3drt7m.jpg

  1. You buy cards from current sets and flip them fast.

  2. You buy sealed booster boxes and hold them for several years.


skjrid3av5.jpg

If I jump in I will take door 3 as it seems to be the simplest one.

There are apparently a lot of fake high end cards and they are getting better and I totally dont want to get burned as they are really expensive and so out of my league anyway.


6k4i69qucc.png

I also lack knowledge for option 2.

So option 3 seems good to get my feed wet if I so choose.


Are you invested into something unusual? What got you into it?

Sort:  

Mhhh I habe some cards and never checked if they are worth something. This weekend I will look them up.
Magic cards as an investment is interesting but takes a lot time to manage, unless you are just hodl booster packs but then you need a lucky hand (or have to be smart enough haha) to hodl the right edition.

Posted using Partiko Android

From what I can tell so far just being out of print and a couple of years old made the sealed prodcuts go up in price but this also means you have to hold on to most products at least 3+ years.

Also I am a bit concerned about the market depth. When it takes 1 year to unload a couple of boosters and you make 20 dollars per booster box if this is worth the hustle and to lock up the money.

I jumped into it though and will know more in a couple of years but also invested just a tiny bit to test it a bit. Also I want to start tracking the sells on ebay a bit to get a better feeling.

Du erhieltest aufgrund deiner LanaCharleenToken Miner ein Upvote von @sebescen81 alt-Text
Vielen lieben Dank für euren Support. Der Account meiner Tochter wächst und gedeiht.

This is too old to vote but I can comment anyway.

For investment of sealed boxes I can give you a little advice.

I bought a few boxes from the Khans block in 2014. They cost me around £55-£60 UK. I sold a couple of them recently for £120.

That's 100% profit but I had to wait 5 years or so. It's still viable as long as the game is played cardboard style.

The power nine are out of reach now. I sold my last Unlimited Black Lotus for £140 in 1997. Makes me sick thinking about it.

that is still 20% a year which is pretty good.

Was it easy to sell?

My timeframe was 4 years till I can liquidat but if it takes 5 I would not mind.

Bought War of the sparks and modern horizon. The plan was to sell enough so I get my capital back and can freeroll with the rest.
It is more an experiment than an actual investment I guess.

Did you continue to buy sealed products?

Was it easy to sell?

They took a couple of weeks on ebay. After 5 years you have little competition. Fate Reforged is popular but likely just due to a couple of expensive mythics in the set. You can pull fetch lands in in this set too.

Bought War of the sparks and modern horizon.

It's still feasible to do it. I would wait until barely nobody has them for sale. The cards will rise in prices eventually due to scarcity, same with sealed product.

Did you continue to buy sealed products?

Not any more, though I have thousands of rares and mythics all of which I would sell for the right price.

I keep an eye on https://www.mtgstocks.com/interests to see what is spiking and the unload a playset on ebay. It seems to work well.

Eg.. I have a bunch of Nykthos, Shrine to Nyx, I need to list some.. it's gone up a lot lately.

My oldest son is into Magic. He claims he has some good cards but until I see any green...:)

Did he already sell some?

I am a bit curious about the market depth and how easy you can unload

I think it's even in the digital age that demand for things like deck cards will increase because it's like it'll acrue more value the more it becomes rare really. I also invest on artifacts myself from museums

that is interesting. how you do that? What kind of artifacts?

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62