Steemit Need An Seo Club. Here's Why

in #steemleo5 years ago

seo-wheel-ss-1920.png

Having started working in SEO in 2008 it is something that is always on my mind. I no longer do it professionally and have not done so for a few years but I still "get it". It is actually what brought me to @steemit in the first place. That happened about 6 months before I had even realized that steem was a crypto. Had I known, I would have a lot more because it was before the bull run lol.

The reason I joined was for a potential backlink for my business website. I think if you own a business, especially a small business, that you must have a steemit blog. One reason is that your steemit blog, if named for your business, will rank in google for your business.

I used that as a defensive strategy. Your steemit blog will take up 1 more space in the search engine for your name that you control. Go ahead and look up your steemit username in Google and you will see what I mean. That's why naming your steemit blog is very important.

But reading @gadrian 's seo article a few days ago got me thinking again.

I began to think about not our Alexa rating and traffic numbers here, but our Google Page Rank and Domain Authority. We are a PR 8 . If you don't know seo don't worry about it. It simply means that getting a link back to your website from Steemit.com is a great thing and really matters.

The links out to sites here are tagged nofollow which means that the search engines will follow the link off the steem post to see where it leads, acknowledge it and that's it. That nofollow tag acknowledgement is nice but it does not carry the link juice from the steemit domain and give it to the link.

The PR 8 link juice is what is most important. I know there is $$ level that a post must earn for Steemit to change the tag from nofollow to dofollow. What that means is that the search engine crawlers will follow the link to the new website and give it the link juice from the steemit domain. Think of it as a letter of recommendation from a very important person (steemit) on behalf of someone who is not so important (another website)

It would be nice to really figure out that $$ post trigger. I think it used to be at $20 a post would automatically kick in the "follow" tag. Maybe someone with some technical ability can figure it out.

But, this concept is why I think we need an SEO club here on steemit. Not to game the system but for people with means who want to help grow the value of steemit to band together and get posts above the $20 or whatever that trigger point is, to provide that valuable link juice to another website by linking out to it via a steem post. Obviously, that post would need to be posted on Steemit.com itself and not some other lower PR interface.

Now I know as soon as I bring this up people will think it is a pay to play scheme. Sending steem to people who normally get over $20 a post in order to get them to post an article. That's not what I propose at all. It would be nice for people who normally do outreach for steem to be able to deliver that incentive for someone who needs backlink support for their website.

I plan to introduce 2 businesses to steemit in the next month. One of them is Industrial Frigo Ice which makes portable ice skating rinks . I think they are a great fit for steem because of the cool content their niche can create. An offsite blog would be great for them and a PR 8 backlink from steemit would be awesome for their google rankings.

What I'm imagining is some type of outreach tag we create where participants go to vote for content designed to market our SEO backlink value to get the post over the hump. (whatever value that turns out to be). I think it would be cool to take the earnings and send them to Null and burn the steem.

Anyway I was just thinking out loud on this because I'm not sure there are really enough steemians who are out there really trying to market the value of steem to the outside world. Let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you for posting from the https://steemleo.com interface 🦁

Sorry for the double post. I got a broadcast error while posting from @steem.leo so I pressed it again.

Hi @cflclosers!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.601 which ranks you at #6277 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 92 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79