Kitchen Witch Sunday - Apple Pie Baked Apples

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

Kitchen Witch Sunday.png

This was inspired by tumblr, once more. There was a photo set of the process floating around, with comments along the lines of "Isn't this just like killing a someone and stuffing their guts inside of someone else before you eat them?" which of course had several fandoms coming in with gifs and it was all around funny. Sadly tumblr is being a butt and refusing to give me an actual link to posts and the OP had deactivated so the link they included to the original recipe was defunct.

However, the internet is a wonderful place so I went around and found over 20 variations on t his recipe, put together the common factors and my own experience as a cook, and will now present it to you! This is also a contest entry to the latest contest for SteemKitchen with the tutti frutti theme, because apples are fruit and this is a great low-fat and low-calorie dessert t hat's super tasty too!

Untitled-1.png

You'll Need The Following;

  • 6 apples of the same relative size
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 pie crust

I choose granny smith apples because they're traditional pie apples, and of course have more taste than most apples because of their tartness. Any apples will do, but honestly you'll want more spice if you use anything that's not granny smith.

Also what's pictured is actually my homemade apple pie spice that's cinnamon, cardamom, and a few other spices and you can get it premade in the stores like pumpkin pie spice or just Google it for yourself if it's something you're interested in.

Untitled-2.png

The first step, as always, is to preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Then take 4 of your 6 apples and hollow them out without puncturing the skin. I have a little device that's meant to core apples that I used, hence the circle marks on the bottom, but however you want to do it is good. Just don't cut yourself, please.

Untitled-3.png

Take the other 2 apples and cut them up into small, thin pieces. Toss them with your sugars and spices until they're well-coated. I just kind of shifted the bowl around and then stuck my hands in there, but a spoon works too if you're not so hands-on.

Untitled-4.png

Take what you made in the last step and shove it into the apples you hollowed out. There might be some leftovers, but that's just good eating on its own.

Untitled-5.png

The traditional version is cutting the crust into strips and doing the lattice pattern, but that's too fancy for me and if it's going to taste the same no matter if I do it an easier way or a harder way I'll take the easier way.

But no matter how you choose to do it, this step is to take your pie crust and cover the tops of your stuffed apples. I used a mason jar lid and put some slits in them and layered them on top.

Untitled-6.png

Put just enough water in the bottom of the pan to barely cover it, cover the top in tin foil and bake for about 20 minutes.

Untitled-7.png

Take the pan out, take the tin foil off, and bake them for another 20 minutes.

Untitled-8.png

Remove from the oven and enjoy! They're great warm out of the oven or cooled down, you can sprinkle some spice on top for extra, and a scoop of ice cream or some whipped cream on top would be great just like real apple pie :)

Banner was made by me in Photoshop. All other pictures here were taken by me specifically for this post. I have been a home cook for over a decade, and any questions or comments about this recipe are encouraged!

If you like this content resteems, upvotes and comments are much appreciated. I can now also be found on twitter where anyone interested can read about my garden, updates on steemit posts, and other various related things.

Sort:  

Congrats to you too! I'm excited to see the entrants for the starter dish contest, hopefully there will be some nice creative ones in there :D

Love your version of baked apples @sigilmancy!

Thank you! I've done baked apples before too, but I'd say I prefer these over the regular version just because more apples are always a good thing ^^

”an apple a day keeps the doctor away!” 😋

I agree with Lizelle.
Love this apple recipe

KITCHEN WITCCH IM A FUCKING KITCHEN BITCH OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78