Steem Kitchen Contest #3 – Cheap and Cheerful: How to Make a Scrumptious Marble Pound Cake

in #steemkitchen5 years ago (edited)

Good day and greetings everyone. This is my entry to the Steem Kitchen Contest #3 – Cheap and Cheerful: How to Make a Scrumptious Marble Pound Cake

IMG_0356.JPG

Well, how are you all feeling today? I hope everyone’s feeling fantastic and doing well. Well, today I wanted to share and show you how to make this scrumptious old time marble pound cake. I am inspired by this scrumptious cake through the famous enterprise no other than the so-called “Better Homes and Gardens. One of my friends back in the 90s had thrown a get-together party on one weekend at her apartment complex and she made this delicious cake.

I couldn’t resist how delightful the cake was. I have to have the recipe, she gladly and willingly without hesitation gave me where she got the recipe from. Later, I went to the book store and purchase the recipe book adding it to my collection in the book shelf. And today, whenever I want to indulge for a marble cake. This is my go to recipe. And I just wanted to share this with you as well.

Now, about the price cost of this recipe; however, I am not able to give the exact figure cost for this cake because I don’t have the receipts. So, I will guesstimate. I usually shop inside the base because the prices there are a lot cheaper than outside stores. I would say that my guesstimate cost for this cake is $3 to 4 dollars which the SBD conversion rate is pretty much close to it. So, I think my guesstimate is within the price and still very affordable plus you end up having a delightful cake for dessert that you can share with family and friends.

Without further delay, here’s how you make it:

Preparation Time: 30 minutes
Baking Time: 70 minutes
Servings: 8-10

Marble Pound Cake

Ingredients:

2 cups King Arthur flour all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
¾ c. butter
½ c. milk
3 large eggs
1 ¼ cups sugar
1 tsp. lemon zest
1 tsp. lemon juice
2 tbl. Hot water
1 tbl. Sugar
1 ounce of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate
¼ tsp. cinnamon

IMG_0326.JPG

Steps and Procedures:

Preheat oven to 325F and if using non-stick pan, spray the pan with spray made with flour.

In a large mixing bowl, at medium speed, beat the butter until creamy and fluffy.

IMG_0327.JPG

IMG_0328.JPG

Add the sugar slowly and keep beating until very fluffy.

IMG_0329.JPG

IMG_0330.JPG

Add eggs to the mixture one at a time with a minute interval between each one. Continue to beat for 3-5 more minutes.

IMG_0331.JPG

IMG_0332.JPG

IMG_0333.JPG

Add milk, lemon zest, and lemon juice until well incorporated in the mixture.

IMG_0337.JPG

Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. And add to the mixture at a low speed until smooth.

IMG_0339.JPG

IMG_0340.JPG

IMG_0341.JPG

In a small saucepan, heat the chocolate square over low heat, and stir until melted. Set aside to cool.

IMG_0334.JPG

IMG_0335.JPG

IMG_0336.JPG

Add boiling water to the 1 tbl sugar and mix until sugar dissolves and pour this mixture to the melted chocolate that’s in the pan and add the cinnamon to combine and mix. Set aside to cool.

IMG_0342.JPG

Divide the batter in half and place the other half into another bowl. Pour the melted chocolate mixture into one half of the batter and mix thoroughly until the color changes to light brown.

IMG_0345.JPG

IMG_0346.JPG

IMG_0347.JPG

Using a large spoon, alternatingly place a spoonful of batter into the pan. Once completed, use a spatula to stir gently the batter.

IMG_0348.JPG

IMG_0349.JPG

IMG_0350.JPG

IMG_0352.JPG

Bake in the oven for 70 minutes or until a wooden stick inserted comes out clean.

Remove from the oven and allow it to cool for about 10-15 minutes.

IMG_0353.JPG

IMG_0354.JPG

Transfer to a serving platter and serve.

IMG_0357.JPG

IMG_0358.JPG

IMG_0359.JPG

Rogerine1.jpg

There you have it, a scrumptious old time marble pound cake. I hope you will try to make this in your kitchen at home and share with family and friends. I love this cake for what it’s worth and its flavor is just wonderfully delightful to the taste.

Have a great day and thank you so much for visiting. Enjoy and happy cooking/baking! Peace and blessings.

Sort:  

Oh my, looks like I'm hungry already. Your post made me grab the box of donuts I still haven't eaten since yesterday. 😂

So sad we don't have an oven. But at least I now know how it's done. 👍👍👍

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rogerine from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi roger5120,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oooh yum! I haven't had Pound Cake since I was little... I'd forgotten all about it, but I used to love it- I thought it was something magical to have a cake with the tow colours combined! Thank you for posting the full recipe and a step-by-step - I'll certainly be treating us to our own version soon - thank you!!

Congratulations on you Curie Vote- so well deserved with your beautiful photos and all the effort you put into your post! YUM! :)
E x

Hello @eveningart. Yummy indeed. Oh, I love marble pound cake...it's simply delightful. Yes, you gotta have the two colors. All you do is melt that Ghirardelli chocolate and you're in heaven..

Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. I truly appreciate. Have a wonderful lovely day.

You're making me very hungry hahahahaha I'm gonna be honest though, I'm not much of a baker. My Mom though, THE best. That Ghirardelli chocolate and the butter and the pound cake. I wanna pull out a mug of coffee and take a slice right out of my computer screen. It's cold and rainy and windy where I'm at and this would really hit the spot.

Thanks for sharing! I may not be the one to take your recipe and do it but you've got me dreaming of warm pound cake and now I'll be on my way to the local farmers market or bakery looking for something to satisfy my craving. Cheers!

Hi @jocqua! how are you? Well, yes of course, mommy is always best in the kitchen. Oh, my yes, that Ghirardelli chocolate is to die for. Gotta have that in your pound cake. Ha ha ha you're funny, but that is great.

You're very welcome and I'm happy that you like this recipe because truly it is delightful...share it to mom so she can make it for you. I'm sure you'll all love it. Yes, I love going to the farmers market too. They have lots of good things there...organic stuff and all. Anyways, have a wonderful day.

And thank you so much for visiting and commenting.

Hi again @roger5120! And I am doing great! I'm actually about to go out and bear the bad weather. Looking for some nicer weather. Gonna drive until I see it hahaha

I'll be home in a few days and I'm pulling the recipe up for my Mom. She loves that Ghirardelli more than anyone I know lol chocolate is her favorite. I'm sure this is something she could put together quite nicely.

Hope you're having a good day as well! Thanks again for sharing. I'll let you know if I can persuade her to bake me something. I usually can. She's kind of the best Mom ever. Cheers!

Hello there @jocqua. You are very welcome. I'm sure your mom will lovingly make it for you. Plus as you said she loves Ghirardelli so for sure she can delightfully put it all together for both you and your mom. You have a wonderful and best mom in the world. How amazing is that?

I'm doing just fine thanks for asking very kind of you. Thanks again for stopping by and commenting. Have a great day.

It's pretty amazing. Well I'm back home now so I'll see if I can convince her. It shouldn't be hard 😀

You have a great day as well!

Yeah, it's pretty easy to do. For sure she will. You have a great day as well.

Cake!!! Yum yum.... I love cakes and do like how the inside of this cake looks plus it does look really delicious...

That chocolate you used seem to have a kind of orange color to it or was it the picture? I was surprised to see it turn brown... I though it was some sort of colored chocolate (probably why that particular brand needs to be used?) I think it must be the picture.... Lol!

Hello and good day @audreybits. What a beautiful name. Yes, this cake is delightful...I love it and I hope you'll love it too.

The color is kind of redish brown to me...perhaps it's the picture. But once you incorporated the color to the batter and mix completely it turns to light brown. Ghirardelli is a very good chocolate. I believe it's what makes the cake so scrumptious. You Gotta try it... and let me know how it turns out for you.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

Thank you so much!😊

That definitely is a treat to try out and that chocolate, Yum!!

This is the proof that cake doesn't need to be either fancy or expensive to be delicious :) When I was a child I loved this cake. Nowadays, I make a vegan version of it :)

I even used similar cake as a sponge for my banoffee pie. I know it sounds strange but I don't like all these fancy nut/dates/etc bottoms for the cake so I tried and everyone loved it :)

I like how you did your post. The instructions are very clear and exact and anyone who would like to bake the cake would be able to do it with your recipe. And if they're not sure how it should look like then they can refer to your photos. They are great as well!

Thank you for sharing! My husband was asking me today to make a cake so I might go with this one :)

Congratulations @roger5120! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.
You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm hungry and you're publishing that delicious hahahaha marble cake.

I find your preparation very didactic and best explained impossible. although surely for you is economic, in my country is another story, even so I will keep the recipe to make this delicious cake that you have brought us.

Your instructions are very clear and being this way it looks very easy the preparation.

I will eat a piece visually, I can almost feel the aroma. :D

Thank you for sharing your recipe.

Greetings

Looks like a delicious and easy to prepare cake. I am wishing you all the best in the steem kitchen contest 😀👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello there @practicaleric yes it's very delicious and you're right it is simple and easy to make. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. Yeah, crossing my fingers. Have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99