Barszcz recipe / Steemkitchen contest week #1

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

image

This is a traditional Polish starter which is a beetroot soup, and it is my entry for the steemkitchen contest week 1. I have had this soup a few times in Poland and loved it, but the wierd thing is I used to hate beetroot, and this soup is what got me to start eating beetroot. The original recipe requires fermenting the beetroots and I don't have time for that, so I used apple cider vinegar to achieve the same taste. This is my own recipe and the left over beetroot will go into the main course so no waste, the polish version of this soup clear, so no floaties.

Ingredients

3 beetroots
1,2l water
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
Ground pepper, cumin and mustard seeds
2 Bay leaves

First I peeled and chopped beetroot into quarter's.

image

Then water.

image

Then I put the pepper, cumin and mustard seeds in a grounder and give it a few turns, with a teaspoon of salt and two bay leaves and 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar.

image

I left it in the pressure cooker for 1 and a half hours and once the beetroot started falling apart I picked out the beetroot and bay leaves and served.

image

Next post the saga will continue when I use the left over beetroot for the main course.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @gguy773! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33