A Lekker Jerk Chicken Recipe - BraaiBoy TV

in #steemkitchen5 years ago


Yah mon... Let's make some chicken!

The previous BraaiBoy TV episodes were dedicated to my american mate that spent a month travelling through South Africa with me... in this episode I take things a little more Caribbean and we make some Jerk chicken.

Jerk is a style of cooking native to Jamaica, in which meat is dry-rubbed or wet marinated with a hot spice mixture called Jamaican jerk spice.

Now while I've never actually been to Jamaica (still high on my bucket list of countries to visit though), Jerk Chicken is pretty popular there (so I'm told), and I'm a big fan of spicy/peppery foods, not to mention the rum that was needed for the recipe as well... so it was a no-brainer to give it a bash.

For a truly authentic experience you want to use pimento wood/charcoal... which is unfortunately not easily obtainable in South Africa (and I'm assuming in many other places around the world), so if you do know where to get some in SA (or want to ship me some), please let me know. ;-)

P.S. To most English speaking nations the tree is called “pimento” and the berries “allspice”.

The key to good Jerk Chicken is your marinade... So please watch the video and let me know what you think of my take on the recipe.



Marinate in the fridge over night



I'm not sure if authentic Jerk Chicken requires crispy skin, but that the way I like it ;-)

A huge shoutout to Chad-O-Chef for making this episode possible once again, and a special thanks to Die Bos in Moreleta Park for hosting us.

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool (public high-5's are cool, right?) ;-)


Liked the video/Recipe? Maybe you thought it was crap?

Either way, let me know in the comments below.

UpVotes & ReSteems are held in high (e)steem :P

If this post is older than 7 days please support by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post

All my @dtube videos here:

Sort:  

When a Jamaican spots your Jerk chicken

hahaha... I was hoping someone would find it :-)
Hope I didn't disappoint?

I am actually impressed that you made it yourself. I just buy the paste lol. If you can get scotch bonnet peppers where you at you will be leveled up. Jamaicans also splash some beer on the chicken ( just culture)
Jerk chicken is the best , gonna whip some up at my event in December , can’t wait

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sweet! share some pics when you do ;-)

Oh hell yes, this really is lekker!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Way Cool... do you understand Afrikaans? i.e. "Lekker"

I understand a little but not much, party talk mainly. My mums family are English South Africans, we have a bunch of properties in noordhoek Cape Town & also Constantia. I used to go over a lot growing up, and I actually took my wife to SA for our honeymoon

Posted using Partiko iOS

The chicken looks delicious and you make the process fun! Greeting from Mexico!

Hey @eddiespino ... it's been a while... Hope you're well.
The chicken was indeed delicious... thanks for visiting and thanks for watching.

Just seeing this chicken made my mouth water.

Great video and recipe.

Thanks for popping in @fabian98, and thanks for the kind words.

Yeah, I'm not normally a fan of marinades on my meat... but this Jerk Chicken is a must try... YUM!!!

Thank you very much, now I think I'm a fan of marinated chicken :D

You got a 0.83% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @braaiboy!

I need to eat something,
Can you send me some chicken jerk? I'm just kidding

Posted using Partiko Android

WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO FOCUS ON?!
The food or the video editing and filming?
HOLY FUCK MAN YOU ARE GOOD! loved every bit of this. Its snowing at where i am, but as soon as i get my hands on a grill I am trying this out. I bet it tastes as good as it looks!!!

I didn't know you marinate to cover meat that's not as fresh.... hmmmmm.... tricks of the trade
Thank you for sharing this with us
I am not a big chicken fan, but that looked really good :D

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

to funny to be real :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14