You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemiz.io is Open Source !

in #steemiz7 years ago

Open source thing is great and I appreciate that you have put in hard work and your money for this project to make it a success.
I hope you get more than enough contributions and support for steemz.io
As this is open source so you can expect some monetary contributions from people.
But my question is, do we really need alternatives rather than a steemit itself? @najoh

Sort:  

Yes we do! Steemit.com, Busy.org, Steemz.io ect, are all just different interfaces to the same Steem blockchain. Your data, your posts, still remain intact, no matter what interface you choose to view it with. Think of these different sites simply as different apps to view your posts and those of others.

Why do we need alternatives? Decentralisation makes the platform more resistant to censorship and attacks.

For instance, in the last couple of weeks there was a heavy attack on Steemit.com. The site was not responding or being very slow. But, I could still access my posts and those of others by using Busy.org because it was not under attack.

I forgot writing "better steemit" in my comment.
I meant do we really need alternatives rather than a better steemit itself?
Can't we het rid of those ddos attacks?
@leoplaw

Yes, Steemit could be far better. But it seems to be that the team are busy developing other products.

Sadly no, there is not much you can do about DDOS attacks, it is a "random" thing that you don't know where and when they will strike from. Hence I like the option of have other sites such as busy.org.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78