You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Haveyoubeenhere 2019 Steemitworldmap travel contest - "Road to Recovery" Trip of a Lifetime!

Congratulations @roleerob! Your post brought a smile to the TravelFeed team so we have sent you a smiley. Keep up the good job. 🙂

Feedback

Based on your post, we have the following feedback for you:

  • We noticed that you did not publish your post through TravelFeed.io or edited your post on other Steem frontends. For better-looking blogs, we recommend you use our EasyEditor. As a bonus, when you post through our platform, you receive double upvotes from us, you are eligible for the top pick of the day (resteem + featured on the TravelFeed.io front page) and you can earn extra rewards from being featured in our daily curation posts. You can simply login with your existing Steem account using Steemconnect or Steem Keychain. See you next time on TravelFeed.io!

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@wanderein (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Sort:  

Okay @travelfeed / @wanderin. Glad to learn I provided you a little boost in your day. I sincerely think your community is great. Just wish I traveled a bit more, so I could justifiably post more travel-related content! 😊

It has been awhile since I have posted and not on Steem as much as I once was. I don't recall any previous reference to having your own editor, so I'll promise to look into it. Have to be honest and say, though, SteemPeak is going to be hard to beat! 😉

Challenge accepted, hehe ! Check out our editors!!! You might never go back :)

Okay @travelfeed / @wanderin. Having a bit of time this morning, I tried out TravelFeed.io. Here is some constructive feedback and a quick review (vs. your "competition" ...), for your future reference:

  • I immediately noted that your interface does not have a "Template" feature.

image.png

That is an almost immediate "showstopper" for me, as I have a number of them I have stored and consistently use in SteemPeak.

  • While I had it opened, I found and commented on a post from my friend, @delishtreats. What I noticed immediately was I had no view below, of what my "finished product" comment would look like. Initially, I assumed the best, but fortunately went back to be sure and found this:

image.png

Your interface doesn't interpret markdown apparently, as it introduced the \s you see in the image above, rendering the markdown symbols useless ...

  • I was initially stymied when trying to create a bookmark, as I am used to it be easily located right by the title, in the beginning. You don't even see the bookmark symbol, when opening a post. Only when scrolling down to the bottom ... At least I did figure out how to get it to work.

I did like the way your interface handles photos. I think you've got a nice start on your interface. Too bad there is not some way you could have a "joint venture" with the @steempeak team and @asgarth and avoid "reinventing the wheel."

I will freely acknowledge, however, that may well be an oversimplification, as there may be a lot "under the hood" that would make that prospect very difficult, if not impossible.

Hope this helps!

Thanks for your feedback.Just my own opinion and not representative of the team - I don't see any competition with Steampeak and TF is niched within travel blog topics so the platform is more designed for majority of travel bloggers. We are onboarding people outside Steem who are mostly unfamiliar with Markdown but have a travel story to share, so TF made it easy using the EasyEditor.

Hi @wanderin. Thank you for writing back. At almost the same time, I got a message from @travelfeed, explaining that the intended audience for TF is greater than our Steem blockchain. That is exciting!

When I next have a travel post to write, I will try to remember to checkout TF and the EasyEditor again.

I wish you well, in your future endeavors, for a great 2020!

No worries and thanks again for your feedback

First of all, thanks for your feedback! Sounds like you are a big fan of Steempeak, and we are too - Steempeak does many things right. We are building something different though at TravelFeed: Our primary audience are not Steemians, but travelers and travel bloggers who have never used Steem before and come to us because they want to use a travel blogging platform. That's why we have some different approaches:

  • EasyEditor, that you also used to write your comment, doesn't require markdown or HTML skills for formatting - you can format text by selecting it and add custom blocks by starting a new line of text. This works very similar to Wordpress, a platform that many of our users are familiar with. You don't need a separate preview since the end result is already displayed in the editor.
  • We discourage the use of footers, dividers, custom templates or custom HTML in favour of a clean, modern look that gives posts across TravelFeed a consistent look. This can all be achieved in EasyEditor. If users still want to use those features they can do so by enabling our HTML+markdown editor. Instead of a footer pasted into every post, we are soon going to introduce a dynamic sidebar to showcase for example a profile description, social media profiles and recent posts
  • Bookmark buttons are placed differently across different apps, don't see why our placement (sticky, so always accessible when reading the post) would be any worse than Steempeak's

Okay, thank you for investing your time into this reply @travelfeed. Learning that you are building something to reach an audience beyond our Steem blockchain tells me all I need to know.

I will take another look, when I have the opportunity to create a travel post. I love to write them, but don't travel all that often anymore ... 😞

I wish you all the best, in your future endeavors, for a great 2020!

With a little bit more time @wanderin, coming back to let you know I appreciate "the following feedback" feature of your comment. Really adds value to our work, to have someone "looking over our shoulder" and offering some constructive ideas for improvement.

When I first wrote all of these posts almost a year ago now, I don't recall any similar feature from @travelfeed, so must be a "value added" enhancement. I like it. Keep 'em coming! 😊 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66