It’s back for round three. The Steemit Ultra Marathon is returning soon.

Do you fancy running a 63km ultra marathon across the biggest, baldest hills in Wellington (all from the comfort of your chair)? Then tell me in the comments below that you want in, and I’ll register you for the next round, starting on Monday.

There is prize money up for grabs!

  • 1st place – 20SBD
  • 2nd place – 10SBD
  • 3rd place – 5SBD

Do you fancy grabbing a piece of that cash?

Here is how it works

Each day the players will tell me:

  • How fast they intend to run – a number from 1-15 (you can use decimal places if you like e.g. 5.5)
  • How many hours they intend to run for – a number from 1-2 (you can use a decimal for partial hours e.g. 1.5)
  • How many energy gels you will consume – a number from 0 – however many gels you have (whole numbers only)
  • Or, if you want to rest, how long you intend to rest (in hours) – a number from 1-2 (you can use a decimal for partial hours e.g. 1.5)

I input those values into the game engine and it determines how FAR along the course your choices will take you.

The first one across the finish line wins.

Anyone who does not give me their choices before the cutoff time (which will be specified on the post) will be classed as DNF (Did Not Finish) and will be cut from the game.

Simple right? But wait, there’s more…

The course for this race is based on a real ultra marathon course – the Wellington Urban Ultra. Each kilometre of the course is graded with a value from 1-15.

1 = very steep and / or rough so you can only go slowly.
15 = smooth flat running

If you chose a speed higher than the value set for the kilometre you will suffer health damage. The more health damage you suffer, the slower you will run on the next turn.

If you chose to rest, you will effectively be made to walk. You will only cover 3kms for the turn, but your health damage will be cut in half for each full hour that you rest.

E.g. if your health damage is 10 and you rest for 2 hours, the first hour cuts your damage I half (10 / 2 = 5). For the second full hour your health damage is cut in two e,g, (5 / 2 = 2.5).

If you run slower than the graded amount, your health will improve, slightly.

This game is all about managing your damage – just like in a real live ultra!

The grades are based on the terrain, the type of track and my own experience running the race.

If you want to win, a good idea is to do some research. Check Strava for a course profile, read blogs about the race, this one is my roundup of my experience running the race last year. It is important to get a good feel for when it is good to run hard, and when it is good to take it easy.

2 hours is the maximum time you can have for each turn

For this round of the game you can EITHER run or rest, and you only get to have one entry per turn.

So if you think you have what it takes to out-think, out-plan and out-perform the rest on Steemit, then tell me in the comments below that you want to play, and then keep an eye out for the first round on Monday.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments below and I’ll do my best to answer them.


Steemit etiquette

  • Do write meaningful comments
  • Do discuss the topic in the post
  • Do tell me about how we share an interest
  • Do take the time and effort to actually read the post before commenting
  • Don't ask for follows
  • Don't ask for votes
  • Don't say you have voted for a post and then not vote for it
  • Don't say you have resteemed a post and not resteem it
  • Don't write short coments like 'Nice post'
  • Do be the sort of person you want reading and voting for your own posts.

Do you like games?

Check out my Steemit Ultra Marathon game where you can win 20SBD for fst place, 10SBD for second and 5SBD for third. Get your virtual running shoes on and get ready to run!


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

You know I’m in.

Excellent. Glad to have you back ;-)

I want to give it a shot, I've never even ran a marathon before, but I'm accustomed to climbing lol

cool. You'll need those climbing legs ;-)

I'm back with fresh legs. I'm in sir

Welcome back. Let;s see how you get on this time. ;-)

Sounds like fun - I'm game!

very cool. Glad to have you on board.

Finally my first ultra 😂 I'm in for the challenge!

cool. nice to have you playing

Definitely count me in :) I hope I don't get 4th again because I'll cry myself to sleep if it happens :)))

You'll be fine. Just remember to breathe ;--)

I'm ready. Let's do this!

hehehe only one more day to wait ;-)

Woooo, an other run! I'm also back and ready :D
(If I'm not too late...it's barely monday where I live :)))
Thank you!

ok you're in :-) Glad to have you back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49