Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - Week #4

in #steemitultimatechallenge6 years ago (edited)

HOW STEEMIT CHANGED MY LIFE?

WIN_20180302_09_00_16_Pro.jpg

“Steemit? What is it?”, one day I asked myself when I heard my brother in law mentioned this social networking site.
I have no interest in whatever sites which offer online earnings before. I was very suspicious and biased because I had already heard many complaints regarding scams in the internet. That was before December last year (2017), before my brother in law @jun2 got his first payout from Steemit worth 15 SBD (8,000 pesos in Philippine money that time). I was happy because part of the money he received from Steemit was spent by our family for Christmas. (My family, i.e. myself, my wife Ellyn and my daughter Mary Carolyn, lives in the same house of my parents in law. It is quiet common in our country to have extended family: family of married couple/s who still lives within the house of parents).

long2.jpg
|@jun2

I had been planning to thank Steemit for the timely help they had offered to our family last Christmas. It helped us a lot even afterwards.

FREE STEEMIT LOGO (2).png

My father-in law, Ricardo, Sr., died of asthma on April 1, 2017 (last year). I was the one who rushed him on a motorbike towards the hospital and that experience was tragic not just because we lost the main breadwinner of our family but because my father-in-law spent his last breath while I was holding him. (My close friend, Bro. Mark was the one who drove that motorbike. I call him brother or in short Bro. because we are members of the same organization in our Church.)

ricardo lariosa, sr..jpg
|My father in law, Ricardo Sr.

The financial aspect of our family dropped from bad to worse when my father in law died. My income was just very small to feed my family and to support my daughter who was studying for the completion of her last year in elementary. My income as an independent mobile cobbler (I’m repairing shoes and sandals) and as a caretaker in the property owned by a foreigner was still not enough to support my family.

Thanks be to God, my sister in law was employed in a company and she helped the family in terms of monthly expenditures. Thanks also to Steemit, the rewards redeemed by my brother in law uplifted our financial status. We’re no longer suffering from eating bananas all day long! We’re almost done with some previous loans.

Without wasting time, I was motivated to join Steemit.
I read posts. I observed how people interact in this platform. I just silently observed. I composed drafts to introduce myself. I read and reread what I wrote. I wanted to publish my work but I was hesitant. I reviewed it many times and look at it as if I am another person. Finally, I gained the courage and confidence to Post what I wrote.

You can read my first Post entitled “INTRODUCTORY POST: INTO A GLOBAL COMMUNITY OF COMMUNITIES.” It’s all about how I understand my existence here in this world and how I got involved in this platform. For me, Steemit is not just a community but a GLOBAL COMMUNITY OF COMMUNITIES. You can read my article here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@mariequeen27/introductory-post-into-a-global-community-of-communities.

The next day, I read my work and saw that there were already some people who had read my first piece. I was happy. There were 18 people who upvoted my first Post. They were @surpassinggoogle, @deeday31, @arcange, @coolguy123, @sylvesterjohn, @junebride, @steemgigger, @jun2, @raphaelle, @zerometal, @shaunmatthew, @ranielbrianulan, @eurogee, @kingkong1, @princepr, @bugaev, @satoshiroller, and @nessyquel. I earned more than 2 dollars with that Post.

I wrote another Post regarding our place. It was entitled “PARADISE ISLAND PROVINCE OF CAMIGUIN, NORTHERN MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES”. There were only 4 persons who Upvoted it including me! The persons who Upvoted that Post were @jun2, @j-sone, @sensation. You can read it here: https://steemit.com/travel/@mariequeen27/paradise-island-province-of-camiguin-northern-mindanao-philippines.
I upvoted this Post. My brother in law said, I can Upvote my own Post. So, I did it. I earned 0.00 dollars! I’m a little bit disappointed. So, I said to myself, maybe, the problem is not me, not the people but the way I chose my topics, pictures and the way I delivered it.

I thought, it was because I am just a neophyte in this platform and I have only a very minimal audience or readers. Maybe, they don’t like our place or the way I presented it here. Or maybe, they didn’t like it because the topic is so particular. So, to make it universal, I wrote another article entitled “WORLD PROBLEMS AND THE EXISTENCE OF GOD”.
https://steemit.com/religion/@mariequeen27/world-problems-and-the-existence-of-god

My brother in law told me, “Just keep on interacting here in Steemit. Do not be discouraged. If you make more Posts more people will discover you and maybe a Whale shall come and help you.” He was right! A whale helped me! But no, not just a whale but whales! And you know what? Someone Resteemed my 4th Post! Yes, @ocd resteemed my Post! I was so happy. The title of that Post was “MYSELF, MY EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND AND MY CATHOLIC FAITH”. You can read it here: https://steemit.com/religion/@mariequeen27/myself-my-educational-background-and-my-catholic-faith.

There were 20 people who Upvoted my Post! I want to thank them for that good favour they gave unto me for that Post. These people includes @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @ ocd, @timcliff, @tarazkp, @mk40, @smallsteps, @margaretwise, @breadcentric, @anneke, @steemitachievers, @bottymcbotface, @jun2, @ryunamist, @patriciadian, @bensignal,, @joyjoyharb, @mariequeen27, @narcisyo and @kingkong1.

Now, I feel that I belong to this platform. I hoped for more good things to come for me and for our family.

I wrote two more Posts again for 2 consecutive days. Then, my brother in law @jun2 informed me that there is an ongoing Contest Sponsored by @dobartim. This is called steemitultimatechallenge. It’s a writing contest and I love writing. You may read more information about the Contest. Read it here: https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-4-registration-is-in-progress-last-24-hours.

I Resteemed the Post of @dobartim to be informed about more updates. I read the works of those who won during the first three weeks. The Winners were:

For Week #1 @utomobong
https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@utomobong/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks

For Week #2 @josecarrasquero
https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@josecarrasquero/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-week-2

For Week #3 @camilus
https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@camilus/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-week-3

The words of my teacher in High School echoed in my mind saying “If others can do why can’t I”. I want to join the Contest. I decided to join this hoping and saying to myself, “Why not try?” But another thought came into my mind saying, ”Do not just try! Do it! You must do it not just for the prize but for active involvement in the Steemit community, for yourself, for your family and for the world to see that we can have a brighter present and future here in Steemit."

Lastly, before I forget, I would like to thank the Steemit Achievers group/community for accepting me into their group. I began to be involved in their group discussions. I learned that there are many contests here in Steemit. Steemit really boost people’s self-esteem!

Thank you for competition Sponsors : @dobartim , @flysky , @aidasfg7 .

Thank you Steemians!

ROLANDO O. CABANDAY.jpg

I am Rolando O. Cabanday a.k.a. @mariequeen27. I was born on April 28, 1973 in Binitinan, Balingasag, Misamis Oriental, Northern Mindanao, Philippines. I’m now residing here in this beautiful island Province of Camiguin. I am a neophyte to Steemit. Please, help me gain more rewards so I can help my family, neighbours and friends, too.

Sort:  

Thank you @steemitachievers for your consistent support to my Posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84