The man who cheated his nightmares: Day 6 of 100 days Steemit School Poetry Challenge

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

images (15).jpg

That night
Still alive in my mind
Eerie, Dark, Silent, weird
No appropriate word to express
My mind transfixed in endless nothings
My soul drifted beyond cosmic redemption
Haunted images flooded my lonely imagination
Restless spirits found a home in my dreams
Evil sneers from troubled souls
Sent cool chill to my spine

To part ways with this evil
I created a near-perfect picture
Of heavenly bliss I've always craved for
To hasten the hands of time
To chase away expelled minnows from hell
To grant me a luxury I can't afford
But luck seems to frown at me

images (16).jpg

I tried to make a pact
With the dark beings of my nightmares
To drown away the evil of the night
To grant me a solace I deserve

I dare the genesis of men's fear
A pact with unknown spirits
I can't trace
A bargain I may not keep
But history will have it
A man who cheated his nightmares

images (14).jpg

This poem is an entry to the 100 days steemit school poetry challenge organized by @d-pend
Do you want to learn more about poetry, join the steemit poetry school on discord via https://discord.gg/Eg6qyvF

Photo credit 1
photo credit 2
photo credit 3

Sort:  

Beautiful poem!

I really love this

Thanks for reading through....

Loved this poem, @sammynathaniels, you did a great job creating an atmosphere of unease and an almost palpable fear.

The effort that went into the aesthetic shape in the first stanza was plane to see and was an interesting foreshadowing representation of your next stanza, internalizing a blissful thought and setting to combat the outside pressures.

Thought you did a great job with this one, mate, thank you for sharing.

Poetry is a language used to express inner thoughts and fear .... Glad you loved it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50