IN MY COUNTRY | Day 55

It is only in my country!
In my country where her youth are redefined.
My country where ignorance is a norm of its people.

It is only in my country!
In my country where the elderly are nothing but a symbol of a past glory
My country where old age doesn't necessarily denotes an ocean of wisdom.
But a show of gray hair in pitiful display.

It is only in my country!
In my country where truthfulness becomes so strange to it people.
My country where falsehood is worshiped as an heavenly divined diety.

It is only in my country!
In my country where morality WAS held in high esteem
Only to fall with zero pull of gravity.
My country where immorality rules
And morals are sent on exile, never to return.

It is only in my country!
In my country where equality is preached.
"Equal Rights" they say.
But My country
In my country where our actions suggests their are superior equals.

It is only in my country!
My country where the voices of its people were so sacred.
My country where the sacred voices are shot and sealed to the last dot.
Only in my country will you see a dumb ruling over the Einsteins.
Yet, the Einsteins seems to have lost their voices too.

Pity is the state of the nation.

Join us here on discord

Image 1 2

Sort:  

You have received a free upvote ! Sign up to get more! Its always free!

http://steem.link/freeboost

"In my country" is a poem composed of six stanzas of free verse and one last loose verse.
It raises the difficult social insertion of the Nigerian citizen in his own country.
Each beginning of verse reinforces the situation of helplessness and loneliness present in the country for the people who live there, through the motto: "He is alone in my country."
The lyrical voice is identified with the country of origin, manifesting the national identity with the continuous expression: "my country".
The complaint is a constant throughout the poem.
There is a complaint about the "redefinition" of young people, due to the poor function assumed by older people that, it is supposed, should be an example of strength and direction, but they do not. In the same way, falsehood, immorality and inequality are criticized.
However, in the last stanza it adds to the long list of discomforts, the loss of democracy and the possible flight of talent or the limited role of the most studied, lawyers, scientists.
It caught my attention, the expression:

the sacred voices are filmed and sealed to the last point.

From my point of view, it seems that it is more coherent: Signed and sealed instead of filmed and sealed. It could be cultural distance or translator error. But, it caught my attention because as it is written, distances my understanding.
In general, it is a good protest poem that achieves its purpose. When reading the strength of that lyric speaker giving warning voices about the current decadent situation in his country.
Good job, fellow poet! I congratulate your creative art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75