Day 65 | IF THAT'S WHAT IT TAKES

I know some kinds of things
Things capable of making my being
So I will put in all the efforts necessary
If that's what it takes
If that what it takes to be peacefully successful

I know everyone cherishes success
Success that majority often misinterpret
So I will put in all the efforts necessary
If that's what it takes
If that what it takes to be Peacefully successful

Brother says he will dupe if that's what it takes
Sister claims she will kill if that's what it takes
These are the kinds of people I'm talking about
If that's what it takes to be peacefully successful
these things are capable of marring their being

If it means working my butts off, day and night
If it means living without food and leaving my comfort zone
If it means self-control and doing the most irrational of things
If that's what it takes to be peacefully successful
That's is the true definition of success

Image 1 2

Sort:  

This is cautionary tale of morality and ethics. I don't know if English is your mother tongue of if you speak some regional dialect. I've perceived some in several of your poems some departure from the standard British or American grammar.

One important message that does manage to come across from this poem is the fact that some people consider themselves to be successful even when that success fills their life with stress, enemies or a diminished health.

What you call peaceful success is, to my opinion, the only real success.

Great message.

First off, I feel that English is not your first language after reading several of your entries and I commend you for putting your foot forward in this way.

From the repetitive aspect of these two words “peacefully successful”, I take it that this is the thesis of the piece, and what a lovely, potent message indeed. I enjoy the examples you give throughout as to the diverse ways in which people go after success in life as juxtaposed your message which is laid out from a voice of experience, such as in the opening stanza and here specifically in the first line:

“I know some kinds of things”

This suggest to me that you have been through some hardships, or perhaps have come to see the deeper layers of life where not all is as it seems — that there is more to life than merely being success in a surface level way (of titles and tangible assets, like status and baubles).

I pick up a certain tone of value in attaining success in a materialistic sense though. As I mention above you see beyond the surface, however, the overall feel does leave me a bit confused as to your message. Here is an example of my quandary:

“If it means working my butts off, day and night
If it means living without food and leaving my comfort zone
If it means self-control and doing the most irrational of things”

Are you saying that you are wiling to do anything to get ahead, such as “ irrational of things” would suggest? Or, is this meant to be more spiritual as the first stanza seemed to point towards?

Overall, I think the main reason I am a bit perplexed is in the translation to English. Now, I am going off of a ‘vibe’ and I may very well be projecting here (which is a large part of Art as viewed from the experiencer’s perspective), as I feel the overarching message is one of balance between the psychical and metaphysical ideas of success -- truly a challenge in the world today.

Thank you for a thought provoking piece that continues to mystify the more I pull it apart. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.75
ETH 2381.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57