A Low-Down Sunny Day Dilemma, 100 Day Poetry Challenge (Day 11) @d-pends

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

A Low-Down Sunny Day Dilemma

The sun is shining
The flowers showing good petals
They really liven the place up
So what if they also give me a case of the sniffles

The heat is rising
Even if Steem is going down
My mood, pulled in two directions
Well, at least we’re still two seasons away from killer clowns

Men dressed as geisha
Oh my, clowns, mimes, and magicians
Throw in a guy who does card tricks
Create me a Hell even Dante couldn’t envision

photo-16482.jpg!d.jpg

I apologize; I digress; I will return from my ranting tangent, offer appropriate recourse and penance, and get back to today’s main poem event

Yes, it’s Saturday
The sunny streets are filling up
Faces are smiling, birds singing
A dark roast aroma arising from my coffee cup

Take a sip or two
It’s time to plan daily ops
Get dressed and go out of the house
No need for layers … but is it warm enough for flip flops

clown_feet_foot_fun_funny_sole_painted_ten-638390.jpg!d.jpg

...

Photos courtesy of the public domain. They have been edited.
https://pxhere.com/en/photo/16482
https://pxhere.com/en/photo/638390

A Low-Down Sunny Day Dilemma copyright Pryde Foltz

...

Link to contest page ...https://steemit.com/steemitschool/@d-pend/announcing-the-steemit-school-poetry-100-day-challenge

Join the steemit school on discord https://discord.gg/q9VEn5n

A heartfelt thank you to those at the Steemit School for hosting the challenge:)

Steem is down but it is okay for you to be up:):):)

Sort:  

a light-hearted approach today, Pryde - must really be sunny weather there.
It was nice here - temp in the mid-forties (6 or 7) We tried to get to a heritage village followed by supper in a pub.

Neither worked - the village was closed by the time we got there...and the pub? We forgot, believe it or not, it was St. Paddy's Day. It was mad - not ideal for dining, lol

Thank you, John. Sorry to hear about your aborted dinner plans. Yes we had a beautiful day. Only a light jacket was need ... I think the high was 12. My son and I made the trek to our local martial arts shop and then we had lunch on a patio. Then we headed home to be the ruffians ... they liquor was just starting to hit their heads.

well, we're trying to get out today again - it's sunny and 10 C

A little more dreary here but I am starting sparring class ... so wish me luck. Have a good day out:)

Hello, @prydefoltz, I like the cut of the temporality. It keeps us attentive. Thank you.

Thank you cordero:)

I'd say go easy on the magicians, but, well, all things considered, the majority probably deserve it ;) Very enjoyable read - most poets, myself included at times - unfortunately seem to be allergic to humour, so this is a refreshing change.

Thank you, Lazarus:)

“Warm enough for flipflops”

Never did see the point in flipflops. But, you’re very entertaining poem almost makes me wish I had a pair.

No socks, no socks to wash. Oh I love 'em. But the feet do get dirty:)

Mules and sandals = no socks. 😜

Mules and sandal ... sounds like hard work to me ... lol ..

Tricky, I love tricky. Nice reveal, or association to the mask like aspect and then the break in rant, what is under the mask. ;)

Very good!

I know right ... why are they wearing a mask? Thank you, mamadini:)

Your fresh and relaxed poetry is like a balm after a busy day. Good input, and thanks for visiting me, @prydefoltz.

Thank you, zeleira:)

I really love the humor in your poetry. It's refreshing. Also your expertise with language makes me smile. Have you ever come to the Poetry class on Discord? If not it would be great if you did sometime.

Thank you, Steveo. No I haven't gone to any of the classes. Truth be told, I have not spent much time in chat rooms and am a little lost. Also I struggle to fit everything in time wise in a day:)

Well, I hope you make it sometime. 😎

I love that this piece converses in contrasts and operates in keeping the reader aware that they need to check their footing - so much of each stanza focuses on building an image, then the turn to catch you off guard.

until the last two stanzas, of course, when you buck the trend and have an entire stanza set up the turn, it's all quite fun.

The approach is a lighthearted and incredibly refreshing piece and it's just a super pleasant read. Thank you for sharing, @prydefoltz.

Wonderful analysis, Carmalain. It was so much fun to make:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43