Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge #82--The sky fairies and me

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)



Mama, the sky fairies call out to me;
they say my name -
It is just a game they say.
We dribble the golden ball at dawn,
and rest when the silver one ascends
I ask them, “when and how will be my ascent?”
The reply:
“in between the sun and moon you twist and turn,
the rules that are already made.”
“And is fate the thing that twists and turns it for me?”
once more I asked.
“Only what proceeds the yellow,
and what the silver precedes is chained to fate.
Such discoveries do not make one smile.
Men seldom are content with destiny in their hands.
The higher power to which we bequeath control;
are never the ones we are apt to blame.
The good that is given is for us to take,
but the bad we get are the things we shape.


Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 5/28/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Lovely wonderful lines

really very poetic poetry and also character, hopefully you become a professional writer puiai

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Men are rarely happy with fate in their hands.

They are wise words. It is in our nature to forge a better destiny

Thanks man. Just a quick question. How do you quote on steemit? I just use open and closed quotations.

Before the sentence you put this symbol > then you give it a space and ready

Sorry for the delay in replying. I was away from home.

Interesting response form the sky fairies,
have to give this a second read when the spies not around.

Good reflection brings your poetry, Nicholas. Rare to see fairies in your writing, you are flowing into other colors, which is good. Although all your poetry is great.

The use of poetic persona remarked this as your most intimate poem. Fairy tales often has more honesty than sophisticated literary texts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61555.74
ETH 2980.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51