Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge #52--Bread for BrutessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)



The wolf came down to dine:
That he was a wolf
We did not know
We did not see his real clothes;
Nor the teeth that bit the flesh in chunks
And devoured it, raw.

He drank the juices that came from there within
Like the bird that drank at dew
From the unsuspecting
A convenient prey,
Still, no one saw his true clothes.

His surreptitious glance.
His rapid eyes should have been the sign
Slick as wet soap
As sub rosa as a spy,
We knew not that he came down to dine
The wolf, whose real clothes we did not see.

The ignorant are never cautious
The uninformed offers morsels to brutes.


Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 4/28/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Wow ... How deep and how clear at the same time, Nicholas. Those lambs of the image made me see myself, I do not know if by the reference to my last name or because, simply, I can be a prey of that wolf that hunts from your poem.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73