POETRY | DAY 10 | Vulnerable


Vulnerable, poetry by @naquoya.

Day 10 of 100 for @d-pend's Poetry Challenge


Vulnerable

Like magic, twisting inside
Until broken anew
Come undone by blood,
Sweat and tears
A longing that burns so complete
Until all is but cinders
A scornful new life
Fled from its past
Magnetised towards an end goal in need of me
Called to attention by the blood that flows endlessly

Arms calling
Come here, come to me
It's not my voice but it calls from the deep
Wrapped in vines of remorse
Loved with regret
Never a straight road
Breath in the disease
Share it with me

She dances, a gentle breeze
Now a storm
A gaze of magnitude that weakens me
And somehow awakens me

We move in unison
Just like we did when we went to war
The grandest love left dead in the street
Swept up and returned
So we could move in unison
Once more

The motion was scented sweet
Like a rose
With thorns left to scar
So as to remind us
Of the price of love
It's the price we pay
To enter in
To the holy of holies
A sacrifice
An altar that calls my name
And the sound, so divine
Breath quickened
A pulse sanctified

We move in unison
Have we returned from our war?
The fighting in the streets
Left scarred and incomplete
The rhythm and the pull
That pulls me into her
Once again


Reading Notes: This poetry is new and written exclusively for the 100 Day Poetry Challenge, which is explained in more detail here and here.

Here is the invite for the Steemit School Discord channel





Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Links to earlier works

Poetry
Potpourri | My Steemit Poetry Collection



Sort:  

Congrats on the mini-curie, so excited it found you because many of your most recent writes have been some of my favorites of yours!

While still within the themes, I think, of the internal battles and struggles that defines us and our relationship with ourselves (and, maybe, others by extension), the extended metaphor you use here of war and pain in the struggle for love is not a unique one, but you tell it uniquely. I can think of no higher praise, great stuff!

Thanks, yes @curie has been kind to me, which is appreciated.

I'm still trying to find that unique poem, but it alludes me! I'll churn out 100 and hopefully some gems will show up in the midst, but I notice a theme that flows too often through them. I don't necessarily mind that, but an original telling or word play becomes the challenge then. I'm trying not to bore my readers. Thank you for your generous comment, it's an encouragement that I appreciate.

Qué frágiles son los seres humanos, @naquoya. El hombre es una criatura que padece y sin embargo, debe salir a las batallas diarias. De qué grosor es la piel, en cuántos pedazos pueden destruirle el corazón.

We are fragile, I agree. So many things can break the heart. Too many perhaps. But we grow stronger, hopefully, and not cynical, as a result. But life is a tricky one, and we can only do our best. Thanks you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

we do tend to lose ourselves in love and lose a part of our selves too. That passion we share always calling us back for more. It is like a dance at times, many different and varied styles and oh so many different rhythms .
Great poem, it felt like a very powerful dance.

It is very much like a dance, the ebb and flow of life and love. It's never a straight path, but coloured by our inner hopes, desires, and insecurities. Makes for interesting poetry material. Thank you.

When we move in unison, we draw strategies. We have not returned from the war. We are in the war! The fight in the streets is a constant war. Greetings.

If this were about Venezuela, perhaps you would be correct. This is more about the war we fight between each other, or even with ourselves. Thanks for your comment :)

It all comes back to her

To both, perhaps?

The shape of most of your poems look pretty similar to me, I find that fascinating :)

I should probably tell you more often that I like reading them, though most of my comments would probably be some rehash of enjoying the mental imagery.

goatsig

It's good to know you enjoy reading them, so no concerns about the commenting. Unless you want to write ditto in each one! I know my themes are probably repetitive, bit I do hope that after 100 days I don't drive my readers crazy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81