Day 24 of the SSP: ARESEJABATA/PAP has its winners.

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends,
Wooo... Today was quite a day. You won't believe it, but I am at the back of a truck, trying to catch a good sleep. Please don't ask me why.

Ok, so yes, for the past few days, I have been having the time of my life. In a crude way. And suddenly, I am feeling love-sick. So, there's this poem I have been saving for the rainy day. A love poem. And now, I really feel so lovesick, it's beginning to feel like a rainy day.

So here's Aresejabata. Those who have watched Saworoide will understand the essence of this poem.

So here's a poem from me to every Steemian.
Yoruba.jpg
Concepto

ARESEJABATA

Te te ba re kale
Te te ba re kale

You who watched your mother fall quickly
to the ground, with hands on breasts, pleading loyalty.
Who saw Father lick the ground on all fours jovially
with eyes of trepedity beaming like the sun's loving jocundity.
And then, that blue blood, refined as it is, streaked
down your face like daybreak's teary beauty.
The road from that deathly trail seemed
unaligned with your path to Jogbo royalty.
But you walked on.

Te te ba re kale
IMG_20180401_000443957.jpg
Truck things

You, the stranger from far far away
received no welcomes from nobody
but steered everybody into a race, a relay
The baton was you, the trophy was FREEDOM
They ran with you as a last lifeline to a free day
and after every 400 metres, you were asked, "hey,
your name." Without any esteem, you say
"I am Aresejabata, son of Baba Agba.May
Olodumare be with all that loves THE DRUM."

If I were you, I would dance with my waist
If I were you, I would dance with my whole body

Dancer of the twined rhododrum
Forget your knighting worries and yield
to the message of the drummer.
Tilll all we can see are
Rapid legs
Strawing tentacles
Swaying hips, hula hooped shoulders
Drum shriveled agbada
Dance on into freedom.
Free the drum from the doom of the don
Till you make His whirling eyes prepared to take the gun
and leave Araparegangan trapped in your infatuating cylinder

Give a man a bottle and he will give you attention
Give a man a woman and he wil sell you his life

May ladish innocence be stoned in the face
May the fate of Aresejabata not be determined by a bottle
May the wrath of Lagata fall on the throne for its evil eye
and long neck. May the silence of screams give your legs
just enough time to talk to the dusty road.

Evil befalls the evil doer
The crown never fits the wicked

Whispers of curses are louder than shouts
Of jubilation. Messages sent from behind caged
windows run quickly than prayers offered in
Public gatherings.
Saworoide avenges its abandon and drums
A message of death into the head of the
Ignoramus.
Agogo Eewo forgets its tune and beats
Discordant, tearing notes into the ears of the
Conceited.
Olodumare looks down and bequeaths a staff
to the rightful ruler of Ilu Jogbo. No need to say
too much. Aresejabata, revel with care on that
Seat that long should have been yours.

Kade pe lori
Ki bata pe lese
KABIYESI O.

Join Steemit School Poetry on Discord.



images (3).jpeg
Skit Hub

I need to clear my throat for this. First of all, I would like to render my full apology to every participant of PAP. It doesn't quite make sense that the contest was organized on the 8th of March, 2017. And the result is just being released. But damn, when you got so many things up your sleeve, you can quite lose focus easily.
7869e7b41e7da3bb5ddf9920984efa12.jpg
Pinterest

I really want to thank every single person who took the time out to participate in this contest. Every single contribution to the PICK A PARTNER contest was just on point. I was really surprised with the creative, original, conversational inputs that came through. And honestly, I and my co-judge, we kinda had a hard time picking winners. But I think based on the criteria we set, we were able to find partners that fit right into the criteria. As earlier said during the course of the contest, interactivity, organization; a great conversation and brilliant, intelligible answers: these are the criteria that will and that did determine the wins of this contest.

Without much ado, let me go on to announce the winners.
images (2).jpeg

  • The 1st position go to @adeolly-angel and @timmykaris. Truth be told, you both brought an organic free flow of conversation to the contest. You guys weren't just partners, you were partners-in-crime. Given the fact that you guys are siblings, it was simply beautiful seeing how you brought the whole familial twist to the answers you provided. You let us into your lives, as much as you let us into your thoughts. You made the whole ordeal more of a chatty conversation rather than an interview. And for this, we say thank you.

  • The 2nd position goes to @julietisrael and @ewuoso. Ewuoso, baddest guy from the West. Your cooperation throughout the conversation was admirable. Your answers were brilliantly attended to and the way you pushed @julietisrael to the wall, it made Women's Day feel like the men's affair. And thanks for the blunt random questions too.

  • The 3rd position goes to @marvettsy and @ilyastarar. Marvettsy, you must have a strong knack for proper and prim organization, because reading your post felt like reading a playwright's script. And the answers provided were straightforward and accurate.

  • @zizymena and @samminator, you folks were really an interesting pair. The creativity and motivation your post provided contributed immensely to the success of this contest. And really, thanks for this. Those who read, upvoted and commented on your post already judged it well enough even before we did. And it is for being the post with the highest number of upvotes that you get 2 steems. Thanks for participating, thanks for being the pilots that steered the conversations aright.

Special Mentions

  • @geniunabiy (1sbd) - What can I say? Your brilliant answers and feministic disposition are enviable. Based on your statement during the course of the contest, your 1sbd has been sent to your amazing partner and Steemit mother, @doris-adioha.

  • @rejoiceavl (1sbd)- We like that you made the contest sound and feel so easy. Your post was seamless and beautiful. Thanks.

  • @sylvesterkelechi- @chidinma found an intelligent, cooperative partner in you. For this, your Sbd should go to her. What do you think?

  • @bhadmus- Hairstylist cum geologist. Quite an interesting combination. You gave us the feel of what conversing with a fun person who is a curious team player does feel like. Thank you. Bookoons should get this Sbd too. Remember, you were the one that asked her to the contest like a proper gentleman. You should finish your job in this regard.

Needless to say, the Sbds and steems have been sent to all the winners. Once again, I am very grateful to everyone who participated. I hope you enjoyed having the conversations as much as we enjoyed reading them? Before I start saying rubbish, let me stop here already and go to sleep. In the meanwhile, this was quite a memorable way to end the Women's month of March.

And oh, did you know that Bill Gate's only daughter is getting married next month and Dangote has also been invited to grace the occasion in the US?

Ok, that was a lame April fool.

Happy new month, folks.

Sort:  

Many thanks to the organizers of this contest, I have a mixed feeling, first I'm sad my partner and I didn't win, Second, I'm happy cos it's my first and only contest I have participated in, and I learnt from it.
@chidimma you have the sbd.

Awwn .. Big sissy.. We won... At the very time when i needed to subscribe... Thanks funmi. I love you..

Happy easter funmi... So i won this... Even though my partner is a fish.. I wish u could have told me in a secret place that i was the winner of the competion.. Sharing this SBD with this guy is paining me gan.. Anyways thanks but i will be having a problem.. Please which platform will i sell the Sbd for dollar cuz am in America now?

That's my own lame April fool.. Happy easter all

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
I can't stop screaming!
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Now my voice is hoarse😑😑
Ehem!!!
Words cannot describe how excited I feel right now, I am overjoyed and honored to be mentioned on your blog!
I mean, you are a genius with words gurl!
So on behalf of my steemit son and I, I say a big thank you to you and everybody else that made PAP the contest come to fruition. Thanks you!

Haha congrats steemit mama

Thank you!, congratulations to you too baby.

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43