100 DAYS OF POETRY: DAY 89 - Wanton Me

web-1477840__480.jpg

Wanton Me
By Stephen Martin

To protect should be my calling
According to the night wind’s squalling
But I am better to observe and reflect
Then teach with crowning intellect.

To tell you so I take a chance
That my pride may be dashed to smithereens
And cast to wolves, whom I ignore
Because I find their game a chore.

So, tell you so, I guess I must
And do my best to win your trust
For in your marrow is my release
In your marrow is my grief.

I am not the man of old
Who makes a rule, and makes it bold
But I am still a man, I guess
With wanton Needs I must confess.

The brokenness of my fellow moors
Is locked behind a hundred doors
But I walk down the Isle with key
To celebrate this Wanton Me.

mooring-ring-3417232__480.jpg

I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools.

Learn about our mission Here.
Join us on Discord.

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

I am a member of PoetsUnited. A community devoted to poetry. Join us.

Sort:  

It is good to see you are still at it man. It has been a while since I checked in on you. Great rhymes. I always admire works that do this. Any pointers for someone like me who is lacking in that department?

Make the first line strong and to the point, and Musical, and then you just build off of it. If it becomes labored, take a break, and then go back. Or start over again.

Loading...

Beautiful, partner! I already love you, you want me back ...;)
A hug my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88