100 DAYS OF POETRY: DAY 77 - Old Steps

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

clouds-1837129__480.jpg

Old Steps
By Stephen Martin

I remember the sharpest images and brightest things I saw with my young eyes.
The grip of such crass 'art’ scarred my invisible self.
I am yet to recover.

Now I see the wound.

So I climb into my head as I lay in bed and recollect.
I scrub myself with time.
I allow myself to realize the depth of my sickness.
I soul travel to a small child’s world.

Blame.
That’s a game I don’t want to play.
Mistakes were made,
Big mistakes that have an impact,
Their colossus repercussions expounded
with poor choice after poor choice.
My aeon is over.

I’m not a monk.
I’m married.
But perhaps my best course of action is to stop retracing old steps.

footprint-2624609__480.jpg
Images sourced from Pixabay

I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools.

Learn about our mission Here.
Join us on Discord.

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

I am a member of PoetsUnited. A community devoted to poetry. Join us.

Sort:  

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Great. Thank you. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55