100 DAYS OF POETRY: DAY 36 - Freedom's Respite

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

olive-oil-968657__480.jpg

Freedom’s Respite
By Stephen Martin

We often get loud around here.
I wish it were not so—
Let’s adjust our method
Let’s think before we speak
Let’s restrict our freedom a bit.

I want the peace of a quiet stream
I don’t want bulldozers on a construction site.

We can go around
Or we can stop and breathe
For as long as it takes to ease
The sharp edges
Into the corner pockets
Jamming them in is causing pierced skin
Or bruises that take too long to heal.

I put olive oil in a pan
And cook you an omelet.

kitchen-775746__480.jpg
Images used from Pixabay under CC0 Creative Commons License

I am a student of and ambassador for #steemschools

Learn about our mission Here
Join us on Discord Here

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemitschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

Sort:  

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

I was at the live critique yesterday but was a little too shy to share my thoughts. I express myself better with the written word anyway.

I sensed that this was coming from a more personal perspective at home, but though that may have been the setting it certainly did not limit its application to a more universal theme.

As noted in class the “corner pocket” does have a strong connection to billiards. I would either find a better analogy, maybe sticking to the idea of construction, or go with it completely.

If you stick with the billiards theme you may have to remove the sharp edges and speak more of the contrast between violently and perhaps aimlessly hitting the balls into the pockets as opposed to gentle and intentional.

Overall I really liked this poem and your writing style. I appreciate the rawness and down to earth tone of all your poetry.

Thank you for your insights. I felt much the same way about the billiards imagery. I'm not sure if I want to change it, or clear it up more, or just let it be. You are right, the poem was more personal, but I did want it to read universally as well. 😎

This piece was fun in it's structure and very satisfying to me. Also made me really want an omelette!

Although the line...

"Let’s restrict our freedom a bit."

sent a lil chill through my bones lol :)

The restriction would be totally voluntary. Lol.

I could do with that omlet right now. had a weaird one for breakfast with mushrooms trying this whole no carbs thing. You know what I like about your poems, they are very easy to understand, I don't have to guess and ponder.

Thank you. I like mushrooms in my omelets.

I guess it was the type , really thin

Delicious looking omelet. But the poem is way more tasty I am sure.

Oh i crave for that silence at times, nice words @acousticsteveo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82