100 DAYS OF POETRY: DAY 22

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1522334902752.jpg

Weekend Checklist
By Stephen Martin

I need to visit grandpa
    the weekends I am home I have left him
    sitting alone.

The TV in that room
    every time I visit it mocks me — it says
    “Hey you, son of his daughter, what are you going to talk about now... I thought so. Why don't you leave the speaking to me?”

I asked my sister if she had this problem and
she said, “Yes.”

I need to visit grandpa
    I can’t find a way to do something else.
    I’ll stare the TV down-
     ignore its dominion... bask in its impotence
    I’ll stare the TV down
     And talk about grandma
Everything else is unimportant anyway.

FB_IMG_1522334918041.jpg

Photos from my grandfather's 90th birthday taken by my second cousin Margot Fisher.

I am a student of and ambassador for #steemitschool

Learn about our mission Here
Join us on Discord Here

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemitschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

Sort:  

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thank you. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71