Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #35 (Theme: Ingredient Never used - Kiwi & Blackberries) - 1st Sandwich: Japanese Inspired Tea Sandwiches made with fruits

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

I love high tea and the finger sandwiches that come with it, and I have always wanted to make high tea style sandwiches for SSC.

Given this week’s theme is to use ingredients I have never used before, I re-visited the tea sandwich idea and came up with something I would enjoy, and it is to use fruits - specifically Kiwi & Blackberries - to make them. I had used strawberries in my past sandwiches, but I incorporated them for its colour contrast.

May I present this Japanese Inspired Tea Sandwiches with Kiwi & Blackberries:

IMG_20180408_200601.jpg

IMG_20180408_200719.jpg

Ingredients: sushi rice, coconut milk, sugar, vanilla, kiwi, blackberries, strawberries

I used a rice cooker to take care of making the rice. Then, I added coconut milk, sugar and vanilla to the rice. While the rice was cooking, I sliced the fruit. Once the rice is cooked, l let it cooled off and then assembled them.

GIFMaker.org_dihoyb.gif

For the first sandwich, I stuffed it with kiwi and then toped with Blackberries and Kiwi. For the second sandwich, I stuffed with kiwi and topped with strawberries and blackberries.

Last but not least, I made a green tea latte to go with this Japanese Inspired Sandwiches.

IMG_20180408_201338.jpg

Too bad, my husband and I were too hungry and finished them all before I could take more pictures. Otherwise, I would have loved to show you the inside of the sandwiches with the stuffed kiwi. Guess, you would have to use your imagination to conceptualize it, lol.

Sort:  

That's interesting how you use rice as a sweet dish, and also love how you incorporate the fruits into it! Bye, did you use matcha powder or sencha?

I used matcha powder in my latte as I am old school, plus it is what I grown up with. Personally, I tend to prefer the matcha taste. And, it's more versatile and therefore it's usually what I have in stock at home.

That's great!! Not many people know how to admire matcha. Is matcha easily found at ur area?

Oh yes, we have everything here because Toronto, Canada is such a diverse city with residents from all over the world.

The secret of getting ahead is getting started.

Hello steemit-foodie!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Dam, lovin that sweet rice sandwich.

I was wondering if there was even an ingredient that u haven’t used in ur over 100 sandwiches (that we know of lol).

This one definitely sounds like a scrumptious snack paired with tea!

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 02:59:35
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 380.32/400.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

hey steemit-foodie it always a pleasure to read your sandwich posts.

How sweet these gems look. This is how I would love my afternoon tea.

i love the simplicity of this take on the sandwich contest, good luck :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86