Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 33 (Theme: Matcha) - 1st Entry: Matcha French Toast Sandwich with Stuffed Dark Chocolate and Strawberries

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This coming weekend, we have to attend a two-day and full-day prenatal class. Therefore, I started making my sandwiches earlier on Tuesday. But work and tiredness kept me away from my laptop and didn’t have a chance to post all of them until tonight.

So, how did I come up with this week’s theme - Matcha? Well, my husband and I were picking out first name for our baby boy. Our rule of thumb for baby name is to honour both of our heritage and culture. The first name we picked is both French and Romanian. For the middle name, however, we have yet to decide. But we are thinking it will be Japanese, Chinese or Canadian.

It was for this reason, I was thinking about making a sandwich that would honour my Japanese Heritage this week. Plus, recently, I am missing my belated Auntie Mamiko and her cooking, so I have decided to use the Japanese Green Tea powder - matcha - to make all my sandwiches this week.

At home, I always keep some organic Matcha (Green Tea Powder) handy. You can use it to make tea by simply whisking half a teaspoon into half a cup of warm water until foam starts to appear (that’s the way I like it!). I am very picky as to the type of Matcha I consume and it has to be in its natural form, organic is a must and the origin is important too.

My first sandwich this week is this yummy Matcha French Toast Sandwich with Stuffed Dark Chocolate and Strawberries. I also finished it off by topping with homemade whipped cream and strawberry.

IMG_20180321_192227.jpg

IMG_20180321_192238.jpg

IMG_20180321_192331.jpg

Here are the ingredients:

  • egg bread, coconut sugar (little for taste as I have to watch my sugar intake due to pregnancy), dark chocolate squares, strawberries, eggs, matcha powder, milk, butter, whipping cream

Here are the steps:

  • cut the bread and slice a little pocket to stuff with chocolate and strawberries
  • warm the milk, add sugar and matcha powder, then cool and mix with egg
  • soak the bread in the matcha mixture for a few minutes
  • melt butter in pan, add bread and fry each side for 3 minutes until golden
  • remove from heat and cover to allow the bread to cook further for 5 minutes
  • make whipped cream with sugar
  • top Matcha French Toast Sandwich with homemade whipped cream and strawberry

GIFMaker.org_B2VNtj.gif

Hope you enjoy this creation.

IMG_20180321_192718.jpg

Sort:  

Looks amazing. But a sandwich made out out tea powder won't it be bitter?

Not really, the idea is to add a little for some earthy unique flavours in the french toast. Plus, there's sweetness from the sugar, chocolate and strawberries to balance it out. There is no bitter taste at all. Think coco powder, coffee that we incorporate into bakery, same theory. You have to try it to love it.

I did try it. After 4 errors, I think I finally got it right. And, you were right about the taste

wow this looks delicious

Very creative. I am going to get some matcha. I have heard a lot of good things and benefits from matcha. Looks really good! Good luck.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 01:29:56
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 349.37/400.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.76 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

looks amazing as always

That is some great combo! Matcha and fruits! The sweetness of the fruits balances the bitterness of the matcha perfectly

Lol I just realised I just repeated what you say in the comment above with@molokwu

Ha i love the places your brain goes ;)

Very cool choice of ingredients this week. I already like where this 1 went

That french toast looks devine! Love a good dessert style sandwich!

I too would also like my matcha froathy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46