Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #31 (Theme: No Wheat) - 4th Entry: Avocado Korokke Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

No Wheat? No Problem! Here is yet another snack we like at home. This one is special because I grew up eating potato korokke in Japan. My aunt would also make sandwiches using korokke which is my absolute favourite childhood snack!

On top of making wheat free sandwiches, I also wanted to feature different types of vegetables or even fruits this week. So far, I had used broccoli, spinach, zucchini, cauliflower and tomato in my sandwiches. For my 4th entry, I am featuring avocado, potato and green onion.

IMG_20180310_163916.jpg

IMG_20180310_164045.jpg

Traditional korokke would use panko, instead, I used almond crumbs and it does the job.

Here is how you make this sandwich:

  • Combine avocado with warmed mashed potato, season with salt and pepper
  • Form patties, dip in corn flour, egg and almond crumbs, then pan fry
  • Mix cream cheese with green onion, mayo, shredded cheddar, garlic and black pepper
  • Assemble the sandwich with the green onion cream cheese filing

GIFMaker.org_nrCwQK.gif

I had use smoked salmon with cream cheese as fillings before, but the green onion cheese filling is equally good and tasty.

Sort:  

Oh Man! And they keep coming lol. I think a possible next theme could be like horderves or party snacks. A direct inspiration from @steemit-foodie.

The party snack sandwich idea is fantastic. That would be a great theme for April before summer party season starts.

Haha - I know April / May is not summer in Canada... but where I few up starts to get hot around that time, lol. I am still not adjust to the Canada weather, I guess :p

holy smoke, deep fry avocado, that's the first time i heard of it, lol

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 23:22:24
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 305.87/400.00
Total Photos: 33
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

@steemit-foodie you were too modest when you said you are not a chef. This sandwich is telling me otherwise :)

Wow!! Your so creative

Oh Wow @steemit-foodie, you are rockin! Looks amazing! The almond crumbs is a really really nice touch. Good job and good luck!

Another amazing recipe!

I love this contest! Learning so much and!

There is not enough time to use all those amazing recipes and recreate the unbelievable dishes...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48