Steemit Sandwich Contest Week#29 (Theme: Chinese Wrapper) - First Entry: Blueberry Cheese Cake Wraps w Homemade Strawberry Dipping Sauce

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

Our household just ran out of bread and our next weekly groceries delivery is not happening until Wednesday. But, it is not unusual that I make my weekly sandwiches for SSC without any bread. I just need to improvise and come up with something from nothing, ha!

Since I have huge cravings for Chinese food throughout this pregnancy, it gave me the idea to make some sort of Chinese wrapper for this week's sandwiches - somewhat like dumpling or egg roll wrappers. This type of wrappers require minimum ingredients - flour, warm water, salt (Yes, you heard me right, warm water which make this dough different from crepes). Therefore, it works for me!

When you think of Chinese wrapper, it’s mostly associated with savoury type of dishes. But, I wanted to make a dessert breakfast type of sandwich just to be different. Also, I always have frozen and fresh berries laying around and this is how I came up with this Blueberry Cheesecake Wraps with Homemade Strawberry Dipping Sauce.

IMG_20180225_114327.jpg

IMG_20180225_125211.jpg

IMG_20180225_114738.jpg

Here are the ingredients for the fillings and dipping sauce:

  • cream cheese, sour cream, sugar, fresh blueberries, frozen strawberries, water

Here are the steps to put this sandwich wrap together:

  • mix flour with warm water and egg, form into a dough and let it sit for an hour
  • roll out the dough and using a mold to cut out the shape you want (I used a square plate and sharp knife to cut some square ones and a round mold to make some circular ones)
  • mix cream cheese, sour cream, sugar with fresh blueberries as the fillings
  • place the fillings on top of the wrap, seal with water and fry for 3 minutes each side until golden
  • mix frozen strawberries with sugar and water, boil on strovetop for 15 minutes
  • dust the fried cheesecake wraps with powder sugar and serve

IMG_20180225_140949_798.jpg

I was asked why I worked so hard to make everything from scratch. I have to say although it does look like I spent too much time in the kitchen, I started with a plan and broke it down into multiple steps which allowed me to take many breaks in between.

So, I was not exhausted in the kitchen or anything, and I also have a chair in the kitchen to sit. Plus, to me, the outcome is worth all the effort, I must say!

Hope you enjoyed this creation.

IMG_20180225_114532.jpg

Sort:  

Bread or no Bread, looks good to me. I'm interested in seeing how you being pregnant influences the sandwiches you make for SSC lol.

This dessert sandwich must have be divine !

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 20:40:03
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 201.93/400.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Anything fried & filled with blueberries AND cheesecake cant go wrong! Thanks for sharing this...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.34