Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 64 - Ham and Egg breakfast roll

Ham and Egg Breakfast Roll

I'm back again this week with this morning's take on a Bacon and Egg Roll.

2018-10-27 09.06.35.jpg
How could I refuse such a tasty looking baby turkish roll for breakfast?

I didn't have any bacon (I know, how does that even happen!), so I used up some ham I had, which isn't the same but isn't too far from the original, especially when you break it up and fry it. I also had some mushrooms and spinach that needed using up, so decided to cook them in some butter and add them in before toasting the whole thing.

The Ingredients

2018-10-27 08.43.39.jpg
The ingredients, except the eggs which were already in the pan

2018-10-27 08.43.44.jpg
Forgot to throw butter in the pan first, and my pan isn't as non-stick as it once was. Decent eggs though

  • 1 baby turkish roll
  • 2 eggs
  • 2-3 slices worth of shaved ham
  • 4 mushrooms, sliced
  • handful of baby spinach leaves
  • BBQ sauce

Method

  • Throw the eggs into a hot frypan. Might want to remember to melt some butter in it first next time.
  • Slice the roll in half along the length of it and drizzle with sauce in preparation for the eggs.
  • Flip the eggs over, realizing they've stuck to the pan so breaking both yolks in the process.
  • Give them about 30s on the second side before putting them on the base half of the roll.
  • Tear up the ham and add it to the pan. Cook it for around a minute or as long as it takes to slice up the mushrooms if you haven't done that already.
  • Add the ham to the top of the eggs, and dump the mushrooms into the pan. reduce the heat to low.

2018-10-27 08.55.55.jpg
added the ham to the eggs

  • Remember you haven't got any butter in the pan still and add around 50 grams to the mushrooms
  • Mix them around until they've all taken on buttery mushroom colour and push them to the side of the pan
  • Add the spinach to the pan and let it wilt for a bit before mixing with the mushrooms

2018-10-27 08.55.59.jpg
buttery mushrooms with some wilting spinach

  • Carefully add this mixture to the top of the ham to complete the fillings for the sandwich

2018-10-27 08.57.42.jpg
Added the mushroom and spinach to the fillings and ready for toasting

  • Put the lid on and press down.
  • Put into the toaster for a few minutes until the outside of the turkish roll is crispy.
  • Slice in half, present nicely, then devour.

2018-10-27 09.05.13.jpg
Pretty decent looking breakfast

Final Thoughts

  • Butter. Needed more butter, earlier in the pan.
  • I still forget ingredients for the ingredient photos.
  • More ham, but it still isn't bacon
  • Maybe more bbq sauce on the eggs
  • Cheese would go quite well in this also
  • This could also have been called "Leftovers variation to the Bacon and Egg Sanger"

Previous SSC Entries

Toasted Pastrami and Sauerkraut - 3rd place!


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

I seriously love your dry wit recounts XD

Since when do you not have bacon? O_O though it would suit me fine, I like ham and eggs XD and buttery mushrooms and spinach.

My sense of humour sneaks into my writing from time to time :p

Shockingly sometimes I just don't remember to add bacon to my shopping list. Also, I may actually eat a lot less bacon that I would like to because it's not always the cheapest option (and I don't do much breakfasts)

I don't do breakfasts much either, I just eat whatever whenever I feel like it XD We usually have stuff classified as " cooked breakfast" for lunch, but we can't do that for dinner as the small one can't cope XD

Sense of humour should always sneak in XD


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
Flip the eggs over, realizing they've stuck to the pan so breaking both yolks in the process.

I'm a terrible person who cracks the eggs into the frying pan, then breaks the yolk with the shell, scoops the yolk up, and spatters it atop all the egg-white. No chance at all for a runny yolk. Nice, fully-cooked egg. (I used to love runny yolk when I was younger, now... eurgh)

Maybe more bbq sauce on the eggs
Once again, I'm a terrible person; I'd probably use tomato sauce. ;)

Sounds and looks like a good sammich though! Ham/bacon, egg, spinach, mushrooms... some of my favourite ingredients! :)

**Entirety of this comment should be read in a facetious/flippant tone. Except the last sentence; definitely looks delicious, and definitely my favourite ingredients.

I don't mind fully cooked egg, and when I do that I do prefer it to be like you describe, with a layer of white and a layer of yellow. getting a bit of both flavours in each bite of egg.

Everyone likes their own condiments. I mostly don't eat tomato sauce due to a minor issue with tomatoes, and that I prefer home made and don't usually have any. Mum used to make large batches of it and each of us kids would get at least 1 pasta jar of tomato sauce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63707.00
ETH 2746.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64