Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 63 - Toasted Pastrami and Sauerkraut

After many people have suggested to me to enter contests, I've finally gotten organised enough to do a food entry for a regular contest. This may become something of a regular post, depending on the reaction and how I feel (and what sort of sandwiches I've been having I guess)

Toasted Pastrami and Spicy Sauerkraut

2018-10-16 14.55.36.jpg
Check out that cross section. So much meat, but noticeably not all meat

So this week when I was shopping for my sandwich fillings I found that the Beef Pastrami with a pepper crust was on special, so I grabbed a few slices of that, and then found that "The Goods" Sauerkraut range was on special for half price, so I figured I could do with some of that for a change too. I'm a fan of the spicy one, where they've mixed some of their kimchi into the regular sauerkraut to give it a nice kick (and so I don't have to decide between kimchi or sauerkraut!).

Ingredients

2018-10-16 14.46.05.jpg
5 ingredients, and I forgot to use one of them the first time round

  • 2 slices Beef Pastrami
  • Sauerkraut
  • Salt
  • Horseradish Cream
  • Bread

Construction

  • Spread the inside of one (or both if you want) bits of bread with horseradish cream (substitute mustard if you don't like horseradish)
  • Slice the Pastrami into suitable sized pieces and layer it onto the horseradish
  • Press a layer of Sauerkraut onto the Pastrami, as thick as you'd like it, and all the way to the edges. I used the fork to compress it a little and to form the sides better.
  • Grind on some salt if you like (I forgot on the first one, but the second had a little and it was a nice addition)
  • Put the lid on and transfer to the sandwich press

2018-10-16 14.49.33.jpg
Don't forget to lift the lid and check out the internals!

  • Toast for a few minutes until the bread is nicely toasted

2018-10-16 14.50.06.jpg
I really do love my sandwich press. do wish it had a flat plate though

  • Transfer back to the chopping board and slice in half. I prefer rectangles, but triangles are a perfectly valid option also (They make way more crumbs with my grill marks, but on a flat press they are about the same)
  • Serve and enjoy.

2018-10-16 14.56.31.jpg
My first go had a failure on the sign because I hadn't read the instructions properly

  • Then 3 days later after the contest is actually posted and open, make it again with the proper sign and just take that finished product photo with a sign.

2018-10-19 13.14.32.jpg
Was so good I was happy to make it again for the proper sign contents

Final Thoughts

  • I really enjoyed this sandwich, and will likely get some more meat to go with the sauerkraut, as I've still got around 2/3 of the container left. I do have some pork sausages to go in pretend hot dogs which I'll top with some, but there should be plenty for more sandwhiches.
  • The salt was probably unnecessary, but it is a hard call since it was so little in such a damp environment. Maybe a grind onto the horseradish would have been better, or just leave it out.
  • Thinner sliced, or shaved pastrami may have been a better idea also, as it creates more space in the meat section to make for a more interesting cross section.
  • Time to start a new footer section for sandwich posts...


TA Footer Slim.png

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Welcome to SSC @ratticus, great entry! Your sandwich sounds scrumptious :)

That looks good!
Now I need to find something to eat. :)

As you can tell, that wasn't today's lunch, but I was glad I'd eaten before I was writing it up or I might have needed more food too

First off Welcome to SSC!

Secondly, awesome debut :)

love the thick sliced pastrami coupled with the kimchi or sauerkraut combo and anything horseradish always goes great with beef-type meats!

Presentation looks great too and love the grill marks. Gotta have that pastrami warm right!?

Great stuff!

Absolute must to warm the pastrami. I'm actually not huge on normal sandwiches, so tend to have toasted almost all the time, though there are a few variations on how I toast things, just to keep it interesting. It's one of those oddities where the fresh bread tends to be a bit of a texture issue in my mouth.

Thanks for the comments

Can you not mix sauerkraut and kimchi yourself? Or did you literally have to choose between getting one or the other at the shop? Either way having them both in one bottle sounds useful XD

There's so much meat I think half would do me XD But at least I can make something like that without burning the kitchen down, I have seen some of the insanewiches in this comp.

They sell Kimchi, Sauerkraut, or 'spicy sauerkraut'. And on closer inspection it's actually "Sauerkraut with chili" not "with kimchi", but to buy both and mix would mean buying 2 containers and having twice the volume. Not really something my finances can handle, otherwise I totally could mix my own.

As for the amount of meat, I usually only have half that amount in things like my ham and cheese, but I was trying for something varied from a rueben, which is piles of meat (and a little other stuff).

Yeah, I think I'll be in the normal sando group for a while, but the insanewich is certainly something I may work towards

That toaster you have sure seems like a handy kitchen addition. And very cool signature, too, are you making those yourself? Great post.

Can't live without the sandwich press. One of the best and most versatile items a student's kitchen can have, and still useful for adults too.

The banner was originally created by @bearone, and then an automated individualizer was programmed by @quochoy for #teamaustralia members, available through the discord server.

The upgoats were made by the always awesome @ryivhnn, also part of #teamaustralia, though i think there are some kiwis and springboks with them also

Thank you!

this is the first time i saw a sandwich contest! 😄
it looks nice. good luck!

It'a run by @jaybird, and has been going now for well over a year if the week counter is anything to go by. This weeks entry post is over here if you're interested

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@ratticus, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14