Sort:  

I think living in my head is generally pretty fun! 😆

As usual, I'm working for a non-profit. It's my way. 😍

I've been with Crestone Performances Inc for a couple of years. I was brought in to help fix things, specifically the Music Festival that it had been running for the last 18 years. And I did a little, but honestly, it was going down 5 years before me. We decided (the board) that this year we need to take a break from the HUGE event and get out of the hole (they'd been falling into for years).

We are now focusing on our kid program YEP (Youth Enrichment Program), which both myself and the Executive Director (who I primarily work with) are most excited about. That program has been successfully run for the last 12 years, separate from the music festival.

Now, I basically take care of bookkeeping (all them past bills), admin stuff, grant writing, event planning, fundraising and my carnival! That's a new project we got funding for this year.

I created and built from scratch a traveling school carnival that schools can use as a fundraiser. We secured the funds to purchase the prizes and tickets and such (already built the carnival with a grant from last year) and then bring everything to the school. They keep the proceeds and pay nothing. It's pretty sweet.

Because we had to cut a HUGE part of the budget for the upcoming year, our office is temporarily in the Executive Director's house (just up the street from me).

I totally still need to update some grant stuff that is due end of the year.

Nuttin' like last minute deadlines! 😂

So... I have a LOT of time for Steemit now. With no festival to plan I have only a handful of hours every month (unless we have an event). I was working full time all year to plan the festival, but am pretty happy that everything happened at just the right times.... As usual. 😉

So.... I bet THAT was more of an explanation than you were expecting. 😏

Oh, I so love your explanation!!! And I now know whose mind to pick!! Or maybe we can colaborate on a project. We are starting a Center for Sustainability and need to get into looking for grants - do you see where this is going? And I like the carnival idea for a fundraiser.
I just interviewed a guy on my podcast who does a lot of project out of recycled materials - like making toys from cardboard and has used those as a fundraiser as well - build arcade games from cardboard.
Anyways - if you are interested to have a conversation about grant writing and such - let me know. We can DM in discord :)

For sure!
I'm LITERALLY the best at making something out of nuttin. 😁

We even have (the World's first) FreeBox here, where we are able to manifest items we need.

Grant Writing isn't the hard part... the hard part is SEARCHING for the right grants to apply for so you waste as little time as possible.

Generally, though, I'm pretty good at words when I need to be. 😉

Well, maybe you can share some tricks on the searching process... We have been working basically for free and that is not sustainable at all :(

Indeed. That's really 90% of nonprofits... working for free.😏

The magic is when you find a supporting board with all the right ingredients. If you are working with a skeleton crew, then sadly, ALL responsibilities end up falling on the same people.

Perhaps we get together in Discord...

I'd need to know a bit more about your idea and where you stand now.

Do you already have a nonprofit? If not, it could be nearly impossible (or just take FOREVER) to acquire one. However, it's very possible you can umbrella off of someone else for a small fee.

There are other options, of course. And it's not always required to be a nonprofit to recieve grant monies.

Where there's a will, there's a way. 😍

We are not a nonprofit, but are basically in association with a huge one here in San Diego. And I know about another one we can umbrella under for a fee.

I am meeting with my co-horts on Wednesday and we are making plans.
I'll message you after and we maybe can figure out if we can collaborate on something in the future.
Thank you so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59