Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #63- Fried Calamari Sandwich

IMG_1299.jpg

It's week #63 of @jaybird's Steemit sandwich contest and I was thinking back to a conversation I had with my friend when we were laughing about all the crazy jobs we had. The one that struck me the most was during my first year of university, I worked at a kitchen in a busy casual dining restaurant. My job was to make all the deep fried appetizers which were the usual suspects such as: fried calamari, nachos, mozzarella sticks and french fries. At the end of the night I smelled like a grease pit. That smell lingered even after my long showers. Needless to say, I did not last very long there however, it did inspire me for this week's sandwich idea- Fried Calamari Sandwich on Squid Ink Bun.

IMG_1298.jpg

Ingredients

  • fried calamari (squid, cornmeal, flour, onion salt, paprika, black pepper, and buttermilk)
  • Marinara sauce (tomatoes, onion, garlic, tomato paste, bayleaf, thyme, salt, pepper, and olive oil)
  • fennel slaw ( fennel, fresh parsley, lemon juice, salt and lemon zest)
  • squid ink bun (bread flour, yeast, milk, salt, squid ink powder, and olive oil)

For the buns, I thought it would be cool to make a jet black bun to go with the calamari. I found some squid ink powder and I added some into the bread mix. You can also use black food coloring but the buns will not be super black.

IMG_1306 (1).jpg

My favorite way to eat fried calamari is to dip it in a simple tomato sauce. So for the sandwich, I made a basic tomato sauce with some fresh tomatoes, onions, and I flavored it with thyme and bayleaf. After I cooked the tomato sauce, I puréed it smooth.

IMG_1309.jpg

For the calamari, I cut the squid into 1/2" rings. I like to use a mixture of tubes and tentacles.

IMG_1303.jpg

I added some buttermilk to the squid before coating the squid in a mixture of flour, cornmeal, and spices. The buttermilk tenderizes the calamari and helps the coating stick to the squid. I find the quickest and easiest way to coat the squid is to put the flour mixture into a plastic bag. Then I add the calamari in batches and shake the the bag to evenly coat the squid. Make sure you fry the calamari at a higher temperature than regular fried foods. I fry mine at 400 degrees F for 1-2 minutes. Drain on paper towels.

IMG_1304.jpg

To assemble the sandwich, I lightly toasted the squid ink buns and I pile the calamari high on top of one half of the bun. Then I drizzled some tomato sauce over the calamari. To add a touch of freshness, I added a shaved fennel and parsley slaw.

IMG_1301.jpg

Thank you @jaybird for another fun week. I have to say this fry experience was much more enjoyable than back in my college days. At least I did not smell like a greasy spoon!

IMG_1305.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, I am speechless @loveself! Those buns with the fried calamari, yikes! You really nailed it this week, verrrry creative! I'm sure the fennel slaw made a wonderful crunchy contrast to the calamari. Well done :) Good luck!

Aww thanks so much @birdsinparadise. I hope you are enjoying your time with your family.

Congratulations @loveself! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Whoa 😮

Those buns look crazy! Almost like charcoal! Very cool visual and use of squid ink.

Love the squid and buttermilk combo too!

Visually stuning & enjoy the personal
Account.

I was really surprised how dark they came out. Thanks for another great week @jaybird.

Looks nice! love the work you put in. keep those sandwiches coming

Thank you! What's the most memorable sandwich you have ever had?

Love the look of the buns! Never been a huge fan of calamari, even when I wasn't a vegan, but your sandwich looks so good!

Thanks so much @amy-goodrich. I wonder what would be a good vegan substitute for calamari. I've seen recipes using hearts of palm or jackfruit for crab cakes but I have yet to try it. Maybe next sandwich contest...haha.

Not sure. Young jackfruit is amazing. Great to make vegan pulled meat

Wowy @loveself, this is amazing! Those squid ink buns are very trendy at the moment and all the crispy crunchy calamari and all the trimmings make this a work of art! Well done!
You should check out a great new food contest by @steemkitchen - Cheap & Cheerful Dish, one prize of 10 steem plus post rewards up for grabs (already over $20), it's a fellow South African running it ;)

You are always such a great supporter and contender. I will definitely check out the contest. Thank you @lizelle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55693.62
ETH 2494.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31