Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #57- The Scooby Doo and Shaggy Sandwich

IMG_0631.jpg

When I read that week #57 of @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich contest was Famous Sandwiches the first thing that popped into my mind was Scooby Doo and Shaggy. I remember watching Scooby Doo cartoons and thinking how Shaggy's and Scooby's love for food superseded crime fighting, especially their love for sandwiches.

mhaopsx_by_zacmariozero-d94swve.gif

image from giphy.com

I decided to make a sandwich that would be fit for Scooby and Shaggy. I knew the sandwich had to be big, but it has been a long time since I have watched an episode of Scooby Doo, so I had to do a little research. What I found from the urban dictionary was that in order for a sandwich to be considered a Shaggy sandwich it must contain the following:

  • bacon
  • 3 types of meat not including bacon
  • 3 different types of cheese
  • 3 different sauces
  • something out of the ordinary such as sardines, marshmallows, fudge
  • one vegetable, preferably tomato or lettuce.
  • must be larger than your mouth

For my Shaggy and Scooby sandwich creation, I followed the Shaggy sandwich guidelines to create my masterpiece.

Ingredients for Shaggy and Scooby Sandwich

  • balsamic roast beef (flank steak, balsamic vinegar, mustard, onions, olive oil, garlic, brown sugar, ground black pepper and salt)
  • leftover roasted chicken breast (dill, garlic, paprika, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper)
  • ham
  • pan seared bologna
  • hickory smoked bacon
  • Swiss cheese
  • Provolone cheese
  • Cheddar cheese with horseradish
  • Fried dill pickle chips (flour, canola oil, cayenne pepper, sparkling water)
  • Caramelized onions
  • Salt and pepper Kettle chips
  • Glazed doughnut
  • homegrown tomato
  • avocado mayo (avocado and mayonnaise)
  • mango chutney (mango, onions, olive oil, tamarind paste, vinegar, brown sugar, cilantro and salt)
  • mustard
  • multigrain bread

IMG_0638.jpg

For the roast beef. I blended some balsamic vinegar, mustard, olive oil, garlic, onions, and sugar. I poured this marinade over a piece of flank steak and I left it to marinate overnight in the refrigerator.

IMG_0628 (1).jpg

Next day, I let the meat get to room temperature before I grilled it. For the rest of the meat component in my sandwich, I used some leftovers that I had in my refrigerator.

<center>.jpg

I love searing bologna on a super hot pan and letting some of the fat render and the edges get crispy adding more flavor to the luncheon meat.

IMG_0643.jpg

For the cheeses I picked some mild flavored cheeses that would not over power all the ingredients in this sandwich.

IMG_0640.jpg

I decided that my sandwich was missing a crunchy element so I thought I should batter and fry some pickles. Make sure you drain your pickles on a paper towel before dipping them into a batter.

IMG_0630.jpg

I like to use cold sparkling water in my fry batter because I find it makes the batter really light and crispy. I added cayenne pepper to the batter to for a bit of zing. For my vegetable I chose a tomato and cooked some onions. I just love how caramelized onions make everything taste better.

IMG_0641.jpg

For my sauces, I thought mango chutney would pair well with the meats and cheeses. It's sweet, tangy and savory. I cooked some mango with onions and sugar. The addition of tamarind paste and vinegar added some acidity to the chutney.

IMG_0529.jpg

Once the chutney is cool, I blended it with some fresh cilantro. My new favorite sandwich spread is avocado mayonnaise. It's super creamy and it's a great way to use up any bruised avocados.

IMG_0637.jpg

For my non sandwich ingredient I picked a glazed doughnut. I thought the sweetness would balance out some of the the salty ingredients. I chose a multigrain bread because the seeds will add some nuttiness and subconsciously I thought at least the bread is somewhat healthy (even though I am using 5 slices!)

IMG_0632.jpg

As much as I tried to squish this sandwich, I could not eat it in one bite. I had to take two big bites to taste this Scooby Doo and Shaggy creation. It was actually really good. All the flavors worked well together. It was sweet, salty, crunchy, tangy and creamy. This sandwich was so big, I wish I could have invited Scooby Doo and Shaggy to help me finish it.

IMG_0636.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-10T02:20:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 413.35/200.00
Total Photos: 65
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Ha ha ha ... look at that sandwich

Posted using Partiko iOS

Needs more bacon.

Posted using Partiko iOS

There is always room for more bacon, haha. Thank you @offgridlife.

Oh my gosh @loveself, this is humungous, enough to feed an army!
How many did your sandwich feed?
Love the background story & that gif!

It was truly massive and I made it for me and my husband but we could only finish a quarter of this beast. I think only Scooby Doo or Shaggy could polish it off in one sitting. Thank you @lizelle.

I could imagine the pain on my jaw if I try to bite all the layers at once. Lol. Looks yummy indeed!

As much as I tried taking a full bite, it was impossible, haha. Thank you for stopping by @hiddenblade.

Oh my goodness @loveself, I am speechless! What an amazing rendition of Scooby and Shaggy! They would be so proud :) (And hungry!) Excellent pairing of so many different tastes...fried pickles? Haven't tried that one, but certainly will. Well done!

I am a fan of pickles and when I first tried them I was hooked. Any excuse to make them, I sure will! Thank you @birdsinparadise.

This is a manwich of epic proportions! I was so hoping that sm1 was gona borrow from a cartoon lol.

Love the 3 cheese 4 meat combo with the various sauces and odd donut addative haha.

Really awesome homemadeness qualities throughout and of course maaaaaaad sandwich spirit in this entry!

Totally impressed :)

This was a super fun theme and I thought here is my chance to make one massive sandwich. Thank you @jaybird for your comment.

Lol it was huge!!!!

Oh delicious I think this sandwich opens my appetite since I've been a little sick but it looks delicious I love the amount of protein that has

Surely Scooby Doo and Shaggy would like this sandwich

It was truly a gigantic sandwich built for Shaggy and Scooby. Thanks so much @yesslife.

Woohoo!! First place! Congratulations! I have no idea how you would even begin to eat that massive sandwich but it looks tantalizing!

I had to take one bite from the bottom half and another from the top. Thanks so much. Your sandwiches are always so creative and they always look so tasty. I can't wait to see more @ilsaione.

@loveself I am hoping I can participate this week! My inspiration has been pretty bleak this week as I have been in rehearsals all week and they have been very long and I must admit, I've not had much time to do a whole lot of anything!

What are you rehearsing? I totally understand the feeling when you just have so much to do that Steemit is on hold. Looking forward to seeing your entries.

I was cast in a local all-female play of Tarantino's Reservoir Dogs. It should be interesting. But it's a job and I enjoy doing it, just long hours of rehearsal time. Local stuff doesn't pay much, hence is why I sometimes juggle two or three jobs to make ends meet. But, AJ, my boyfriend in the military who was just up here on leave helps out since he can't take me on dates! haha I'm actually working on a piece for a steemit blog about long distance relationships and how they can and can't work, but rehearsals are taking up a LOT of time since he left.

That sounds amazing. I can just imagine the hours you spend at rehearsals. Long distance relationships can be challenging but at the same time it can work also work. I know the feeling. As a child my dad was always away working and he would be home on the weekends. When I was older my dad would be away for months and somehow it kept my parents even closer to each other. I look forward to reading your post about it!

I'm working on it. It sometimes takes a while for me to finish up an article like this. It took weeks for me to finish up my article on Bon Jovi! haha But it was well worth it. I had writer's block on that one for a while as I didn't quite know how to wrap it up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59085.79
ETH 2543.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36