Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #46 - Juicy Beefy Blue Cheese Burger

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Steem is still giving us all sleepless nights; so what do we do when the going gets tough?

Do we make a run for it, or do we stick with it?

Of course it's wise to diversify one's investments as it's never a good idea to have all your eggs in one basket - but to drop your friends now when the chips are down, really just ain't good!

I have met some really awesome people here, especially on Steemit Sandwich Contest which is into week 46 already, thanks to the hard work of the awesome King of Sandwiches @jaybird; so I will certainly try my utmost not to let my friends down and I will work even harder!

There is one thing that has not let us down, from way back in the late 1700's when the Earl of Sandwich first invented it, and that is the old faithful standby, The Sandwich!

When the market is down we should be investing, so keep on steeming guys and dolls!
Check out the Link to SteemitSandwichContest Week #46 and make a sandwich or two; who knows, you may just win some nice SBD plus you're guaranteed to win over some new friends!

Last week I showed you how to make a Crispy Crunchy Mega Burger which reminded many of their school days; remember when you made a sandwich with potato crisps bought at the tuck shop? Well, last week's burger was topped with crispy crisps and papa, mama & granny Bear thoroughly enjoyed it!

Friday came again, as it always does; and this Friday I decided to make a juicy Beefy Blue Cheese Burger.

IMG_20180622_184510.jpg

I will show you how I make my homemade juicy Beef Burger patties and the easiest Blue Cheese sauce to go with it.

Ingredients:
Beef burger patty -

  • 500 gram Ground Beef - Topside is best
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 cup Oats or breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 Onion, finely chopped
  • Coriander Powder
  • Fresh Mint
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Blue Cheese Sauce:

  • 125 ml Sour Cream
  • 50 - 100 gram Blue Cheese

Base ingredients:

  • Sesame Seed Burger Buns
  • Garlic Butter
  • Onions - sliced
  • Mushrooms - sliced
  • Cucumber - sliced
  • Lettuce

IMG_20180622_180428_1.jpg

Mix all the burger patty ingredients together.
IMG_20180622_180955.jpg

Shape into patties - I use a pastry cutter.
IMG_20180622_181713.jpg

Sautee mushrooms, sliced onions till caramelised, and fry patties on a high heat to seal in the juices - do not overcook!
IMG_20180622_182020.jpg

Stir sauce ingredients together and let it rest so flavours can mingle - this blue cheese was particularly good; piquant and with a hint of burnt caramel, really delish!
IMG_20180622_182957.jpg

Time to build a burger.
IMG_20180622_183511.jpg

Garlic butter is spread on warm rolls, top with patty, onions & mushrooms.
IMG_20180622_183925.jpg

Top that with fresh & crunchy cucumber slices, white Balsamic vinegar soaked raw Onion slices, and finally lashings of Blue Cheese & Sour Cream Sauce.
IMG_20180622_184052.jpg

Top the burger with curly young crispy lettuce, fresh from my garden, to add a touch of freshness.
IMG_20180622_184437.jpg

Papa Bear was in his element, loves Beefy Burgers, plus his favourite Blue Cheese. Mama Bear had to hide that sauce in her secret store.
IMG_20180622_184458.jpg

Hope you will share your sandwiches with us here on SSC #46, you still have a couple of hours!

A quick look at the making of my Juicy Beefy Blue Cheese Burger:
IMG_20180622_180428_1-ANIMATION.gif

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Another amazing creation @lizelle. I never knew there was another blue cheese fan in the familia. Always adds an extra level of flavour!

Thanks jusi, it sure does hey, all the blue cheese fans will gather together, they all call it stinky cheese, don't know what they're missing ;)

Oh wow, Love the homemadeness of this entry. I'm not a huge fan of blue cheese, however I'm fairly sure I'd enjoy this one. Myabe I've just not had a good blue cheese before.

Homemade patties are stellar! Like the fresh mint add I bet u used oats eh?

I enjoyed your little babble to kick things off. I"m of the same mind. When steem is low, that's when you should probably be posting most. You'll get the support of the "real" ppl on steemit, when many decide to slow down or leave bc it doesn't appear to be worth their time etc. Heh Steem is largely retroactive when it's this low, silly ppl ;)

Always appreciate your enthusiasm for the SSC and also your Earl of Sandwich Ref :)

Looks great on the whole!

I also never liked blue cheese but was persuaded to try this sauce, now I'm hooked on blue cheese, this one is pungent, rich and creamy! Some call it stinky cheese :)
Thanks for your thoughtful comments and great support @jaybird!

Love the bleu cheese! Really adds a twist to a burger doesn't it. The crunch from the cucumber and then of course lots of onions. Great job as always @lizelle!

Ah thank you granny bird, appreciate you stopping by :)

For me I think the best thing for that is to go to make a sandwich that can relax a little bit to me and it helps me a lot

I want to taste that blue cheese sauce I think it's rich and it also has smi favorite cheese

Oh you're right @yesslife, the blue cheese sauce really makes this special :)

Looks so tempting, delicious. It made me hungry again. Xx

Haha @sherylneil, so sorry xx

Blue cheese, onions and mushroom...it just shows you can't have too much of a good thing on a burger. Love the oats and mint in the meat patties. Nice one @lizelle and good luck!

Thanks @loveself, these patties really are nice with the mint addition, we really enjoyed that sauce as well :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #179 (6/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Now that's what I'm talking about! A burger I can sink my teeth in and use a pile of napkins on to wipe my mouth!

Namaste, JaiChai

You're right, it took more than one napkin to get through that! Thanks for stopping by:)

Hey @lizelle looks vverryy tasty...but only thing that stopping me is beaf...i love the Veg one...if you can make something similar :)

Ah so sorry @steemflow, I will make a veg one again soon, thanks for stopping by:)

That looks so good

As for steem being down, as long as its here no matter its value I wil stay I love the community on here

You're so right, great community and content! Thanks for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48