SteemitSandwichContest Week #38 - Baked Chicken Mayo Plaited Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Another week of absolutely amazing sandwiches all thanks to @jaybird who inspires, encourages and gives us this amazing platform here with #steemitsandwichcontest.

I would encourage anyone who's ever made a sandwich and who enjoys meeting steemians from all walks of life, to enter Steemit Sandwich Contest.

I will be having a hectic weekend at my little bnb as we're into a long weekend here in South Africa, and next week I'm off to Johannesburg to say my final goodbyes to my young friend Angie I spoke of last week, so have made my sandwich early this week.

Most of my friends enjoy a Chicken Mayo Toasted Sarmie so I made a twist on that popular fast food order with my Week #38 entry - a Baked Chicken Mayo Plaited Sandwich.
IMG_20180425_115225.jpg

I told you all how my trusted bread machine gave up the ghost a while back, and I am soooo tired of shop-bought bread, but my hard working Kenwood mixer does the job of kneading very well, just have to do the rest manually.
IMG_20180425_064752_1.jpg

We enjoy nutty wholemeal bread and this time I added linseed flour for extra goodness!

After dough had proved, it was time to rock and roll in my kitchen, which some of you know is my favourite place of escapism from life's knocks!

Ingredients required:
IMG_20180425_122930.jpg

I rolled a piece of dough quite thinly, cut it into a rectangle and placed grated cheese down the centre and cut the sides into strips for plaiting.
IMG_20180425_122825.jpg

Next on the menu was to dice some of yesterday's Roast Lemon Chicken, chopped Spring Onions from my garden, adding a nice dollop of good mayonnaise, and place it on top of the cheese.
IMG_20180425_122745.jpg

Some extra cheese on top of the chicken mayo.
IMG_20180425_122645.jpg

Now onto plaiting the bread.
IMG_20180425_122400.jpg

The lovely chicken mayonnaise filling is safely tucked inside the bread plait, the dough was left to rise, given an egg wash and popped into the oven.
IMG_20180425_122307.jpg

The aromas coming from that oven was to die for! A yeast bake always is the best plus cheese oozing and crispy as it hit the baking sheet.
IMG_20180425_112346.jpg

Sandwich slices revealing the delicious chicken mayo filling.
IMG_20180425_121851.jpg

Yummy freshly baked Chicken Mayo Plaited Sandwich.
IMG_20180425_114455.jpg

My hand model hubby aka Papa Bear drooling as he models for the photo shoot :)
IMG_20180425_115225_1.jpg

And a quick look at the whole process.
IMG_20180425_064752_1-ANIMATION.gif


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by, please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed my post.
All images property of @lizelle
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Very nice and beautiful. I really like chicken salad and that looks yum yum yum yum! Very creative. I like your heart shaped cutting board :) Good luck.

Thank you @tesscooks4u, it was very yum yum indeed ;)

Hi my dear steemit friend, I am back, so missed your delicious post. have to work hard to catch up what i have missed. love your post @lizelle.

Yay so happy to see you again @artywink, welcome back!

Wow, very cool creation. Appreciate the hard work you committed for making the bread. Glad you Rocked & Rolled : 0

Visually it's interesting how you put that sandwich all together, making the cuts ahead of time and then "braiding" it.

Nice work!

Thank you @jaybird, really enjoyed making and eating this one, nothing beats a fresh yeast bake! Wishing you luck with judging this week, some awesome entries again :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #121 (5/1/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you so very much @thesteemengine, hope all the Whistle Stoppers enjoyed the sandwich :) Really appreciate your support & encouragement!

Only saw this entry now @lizelle when the weekly winners were announced, this entry is completely insane in a good way.

Wow... just wow... :)

Thank you @andreipopa, appreciate you stopping by :)

wow this sandwich looks very gourmet! :O I want to try some

Ah thank you @cobmaximus, it was very easy and super tasty!

Hello friend how are you, how is the grandmother tell her that your friend from Venezuela sends you many greetings

Every week you surprise me with your great creativity in the kitchen, I congratulate you!

Hi Jenni always nice seeing you! I've been peeking at your recipes, some delicious desserts there!
Mom Lily says hello to you all the way from South Africa :)
Thank you for your support!

I saw your comments on my recipes thank you for passing and thank you for your great support

Awesome.....baked chicken mayo plaited sandwich looks so delicious♥. I show the recipe to my mom as she can try it. Thanks a lot for sharing.

Thank you @msena, appreciated!

Your sandwiches always look so scrumptious. No wonder hubby is happy to be a hand model because he gets to eat after!

Haha you're right @cecicastor, a very happy model! Thanks for stopping by, appreciate your support :)

I would be drooling too if I were holding onto that sandwich. I like the wholemeal and linseed addition because it adds a nutty flavor to baked goods.

LOL, we all enjoyed it! Thanks @ loveself :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67546.21
ETH 3785.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56