SteemitSandwichContest Week 24 - Spicy Steemit Bunny Chow

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

So SSC Week 23 was loads of fun, a huge thank you to @jaybird as I've discovered that sandwiches sure can be fun plus has been known to send some steemians on amazing trips as well :)
Where I live in Durban, South Africa, we have Bunny Chows, so my entry this week is a Spicy Steemit Bunny Chow, but I assure you there's no bunnies in this delicious Durban specialty.
Legend has it that Bunny Chows originated when migrant Indian sugarcane workers needed a container to carry their lunch to the sugar plantations, and a hollowed out loaf of bread was ideal to hold their vegetarian curries. The cut-out piece was used to make a 'lid'.
Nowadays, meat fillings are very popular and most Durban visitors will not go back home without having a tasty Bunny Chow. Of course it has to be eaten with the hands, but I still have not mastered that art :)
Whenever anyone orders a Bunny Chow in the office, co-workers are invited to sit around the lunch table and tuck into the feast, cutlery forbidden but they forgave me when I sheepishly sat down with a fork hidden in my palm :)

IMG-20180120-WA0010-384x512.jpg

Spicy Steemit Bunny Chow

First of all, the ingredients are a hot spicy Durban curry (Ground Beef Curry in this instance although it's a no-no in the Hindu faith as cows are considered sacred, my Indian friends would be horrified that I'm doing this to their Bunnies), a half loaf of Bread, Carrot & Onion Salad dressed with a vinaigrette dressing, Fresh Dhania (Coriander).
IMG_20180120_Ingredients.jpg
I will show you how to make my quick Durban curry at the end of my sandwich post.

IMG_20180120_194229-384x288.jpg

Cut out a square/rectangle in the centre of the bread to make a 'bread basket', leaving a neat border all around; try and leave the cut-out piece intact.

Spoon the curry into the bread cavity & you're done!
Serve with carrot & onion salad.

The soft spongy cut-out piece is broken up and used to scoop up the curry, absolutely yummy.

IMG-20180120-WA0012-512x384.jpg

This SSC Bunny Chow was too big for one person, so I committed sacrilege by cutting it in half with a knife, ending up with two generous servings.
But at least it looks more like an open sandwich now :)

IMG-20180120-WA0013-512x384.jpg

Serviettes to wipe the hands and forehead and an ice cold glass of white wine to cool things down, Bunny Chows are hot stuff! My version still very mild compared to what my Indian friends make; excellent curries can be found all over Durban in pucker Indian Restaurants.

IMG-20180120-WA0015-384x512.jpg

Oh my hat, almost forgot, the proof, after having one or two bites, looks rather messy now covered in salad, but that's how you eat it!
Could have been the wine but I'd like to blame the heat (curry or the temperature outside) that fried my brain :)

IMG_20180120_203357-2080x1560.jpg

If you're still reading and are interested in how to make this curry, here goes:

Curry spices - Masala, Roasted Coriander Powder, Chilli Powder,
Jeera/ Cumin Seeds, Cloves, Cinnamon Sticks, Bay Leaves, Turmeric

CurrySpices.jpg

curry ingredients.jpg

Heat a little oil, add Cumin Seeds, then the remaining spices plus 1 Diced Onion, Diced Red or Yellow Pepper,Crushed Garlic, Grated Ginger Root & Ground Beef. Brown this all, then add diced tomatoes and diced potatoes. Do not forget the salt :)

IMG_20180120_190440-384x288.jpg

Deliciously spicy Ground Beef Curry

IMG_20180120_192614-384x288.jpg

I really hope you try making a Bunny Chow one of these days, perfect for a cold winter's meal (or Chow as some call it here), although we find any excuse to have a hot spicy Bunny Chow in the sweltering heat of summer as well!

Original Content by @lizelle

Please upvote, comment and resteem if you enjoyed my post.

All images property of @lizelle

signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Ooo Solid Entry there, I like the history lesson too lol!

Excellent choice with the beef chilli & white wine ;)

Apologies for those last fuzzy pics, think I resized already resized photos silly me...blame the grey hairs, will edit them :):)

oh that looks delicious

Thanks @intrepidsurfer, yours looked great as well! Nothing like the smell of a yeast bake plus the added bacon :)
ps I see you also enjoy a good curry

Yummy made me so hungry for one right now, totally addicted to my bunny chow.

Each one tastes different so always exciting to eat @lizelle BTW I have a curry tree in my garden..

Thanks @joanstewart, I just Iove anything spicy but then suffer afterwards...irritating reflux problem, but I just overdose on all things to stop the acidity. My curry leaf tree is doing well now, love love the flavour it gives to the curry, same with fresh dhania. I was so annoyed when I was making that curry, had no Turmeric, not even one little pinch of it!! So that curry looked a tad pale but still was hot & spicy. Found a gorgeous paste at Pick n Pay today, Garlic, Ginger & Dhania; guess what we had for dinner tonight ;) Reflux on it's way again!

!originalworks

I love bunny chow @lizelle. especially on a cold winters day.

Thanks @artywink, it's the best hey! Soft spongy bread soaked with curry gravy :):) Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47