Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #76 - Grilled Pepper Ham & Cheese open SandwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190119_184212.jpg
Day after day of relentless heat, eating salad and cold cuts as well as salad sandwiches, and then yesterday arrived like a gift from above, literally!

Gentle rain and a lovely cool breeze to break the stifling heat, and suddenly I was craving a grilled cheese sandwich!
IMG_20190119_183511.jpg

Something I've been avoiding of late is turning that grill on! We have enough heat from the sun to still add to our misery with artificial heat to cook food:)
Not that I could avoid that altogether, but avoiding the stove and pots and pans I will during the hottest months of the year!

February is still to come so salads, cold cuts and of course sandwiches will be trending on the menu here.

We have aircons in our bnb units but have not installed it in our section yet because I always preferred fresh air, but the heat seems to be much worse lately!

So I happily run to the supermarket as often as I can during the hot days, stop and have bouts of verbal diarrhea when I bump into acquaintances, just to cool down!
I've even considered having a picnic all by myself on the shoppers' benches near the refrigerators LOL!
teddy_plush_bears_sitting_verschneiter_bank_sun_winter-1186840.jpg
Image credit
But enough about the weather, must get back to the real business of the day and that's SSC Week 76 hosted by the relentless Manwich maker @jaybird. This man is amazing, has helped so many of us with this contest, always encouraging with great feedback.

So after having my supermarket picnic, I still had some lovely Pepper Ham, good strong Mature Cheddar Cheese and super fresh crusty Ciabatta Rolls left to make a Grilled Pepper Ham & Cheese open Sandwich once I got back home ;);)
IMG_20190119_180731.jpg
INGREDIENTS

  • Ciabatta Roll
  • Balsamic & Onion Cream Cheese
  • Spring Onions from my garden
  • Tomatoes - a quick tip from my Mom Lily, never store them in the refrigerator as they dry out and become tough
  • Pepper Ham
  • Strong mature Cheddar Cheese
  • Apricot Mustard

ASSEMBLY LINE
Spread a layer of cream cheese on both side of roll
IMG_20190119_181046.jpg
Diced Spring Onions onto the scene
IMG_20190119_181503.jpg
Followed by luscious juicy Tomatoes, season with Salt & Black Pepper
IMG_20190119_181655.jpg
Pepper Ham is next in line
IMG_20190119_181735.jpg
Dot with Apricot Mustard
IMG_20190119_181928.jpg
Finally drown all this in loads of grated Cheese
IMG_20190119_182311.jpg
Pop under the grill and enjoy :)
IMG_20190119_183310.jpg
A closer look
IMG_20190119_183316_1.jpg
Took it outside to get a better image but it had just stopped raining so the herbs were still glistening - totally different hues on the sandwich
IMG_20190119_183459.jpg
I cut the sandwich into fingers - really delicious
IMG_20190119_183828.jpg
A quick look at the assembly line
IMG_20190119_180731-ANIMATION.gif

There's still many hours left before closing time, so hope to see your sandwich here and a big thank you to @jaybird for Steemit Sandwich Contest, the only contest that's kept going through good and bad times!

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

My goodness! That melted cheese is enough to make me run to the kitchen @lizelle, wow! Hot weather can definitely take your appetite away but with the apricot mustard and ham it's a true winner! Love it!

It was delicious, have to make some mustard again, it's all gone ;)
We have business guests here currently who have breakfast at 6:15 so it's early morning rises for us and I'm NOT an early morning person!!!
Thank you for your lovely comments my birdy friend :)

Nice ingredients and it looks so good, I hope you get a break from the heat, send some our way we need it ;)

Wish I could but very soon it will be change of seasons again but I never ever miss this heat! Thank you for your support and feedback @tattoodjay :)

I do understand, I use to love all seasons, but as each year goes by I prefer the warmer but not to hot seasons lOL

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 377 (01/21/19)

Looks good Lizelle, never heard of apricot mustard but I would give it a try. Good luck with the contest.

Thank you so very much mr Papper, great to see you again, have missed you but I've also not been as active as usual, getting up at dawn to make breakfast is for the birds!!!

Jeezus! That is an epic grilled cheese lol. Love the cream cheese add on, very peculiar. So many layors to this, looks so good!

Thank you so much @jaybird, we're back to summer here again so it's probably going to be back to salads and cold cuts... and sandwiches ;)

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

——

Thank you so very much @adsactly, really appreciate your wonderful support!

I am sitting here on a super hot day waiting for my son’s swim competition to be done with. It’s so hot that you get tan lines even though you are under the shade.... but forget about me melting

That sandwich looks sooooo gooooood
Yumz
It’s almost noon and I thought I’d just have a nice cold drink for lunch but you’ve made me hungry
So off I go to look for something solid possibly in the shape of a sandwich 😊

Haha hope you did not melt in the hot sun after all and found something delicious to eat ;)
Thank you for your awesome feedback @kaerpediem :)

Mmmmmmmmhhh.... nice for one of these freezing days...

hahaha you want some snow?

Would be such a treat, but sadly we'll never see snow here in Durban :)

I also head directly for the dairy section whenever we get to a mall Lady Lizell, cool in between the counter fridges! Your cheese roll is to die for! Blessings!

LOL, dairy definitely tops the supermarket charts in summer ;) Thank you for your support @papilloncharity!

Niceeee @lizelle that looks amazing and quite innovative! I like the sound of apricot mustard! Mmmmm.

Best of luck in the costest!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah thank you so very much for your lovely feedback @jeffjagoe, that mustard really is divine but does not last very long ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58