Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #54 - Fish & Pineapple Salsa Tacos

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Living on the southernmost tip of Africa - well almost...but not quite; Kwazulu Natal after all is a couple hundred kilometres up the east coast of Africa - but still, being South African I cannot profess to know anything much about Tacos.

What I do know however, is that it's not an American food as a certain Fox news host alleged much to the ire of many! I read about The Real History Of The Taco, In Case Tucker Carlson Forgot whilst looking to the wise old granny Google for advice - do yourself a favour, it makes interesting reading.

Mexican Taco Shells are made by frying Corn Tortillas in hot oil into a Taco shape - how to make Tortillas then?

Only two ingredients are required for making authentic Mexican Corn Tortillas, and that is Masa Harina and water - ok, so I did not know what that was either - masa harina is ground corn mixed with lime - very interesting but I could not find this in any of the local stores I visited!

What I did find however, was Mexican Taco Shells in a box, ready to be used, so that solved my problem!
I could buy Tortillas, but would never get the taco shape right, so boxed Tacos it was for my entry this week - Fish & Pineapple Salsa Tacos!

Crispy, crunchy Mexican Tacos filled with crumbed Hake and a light and refreshing Pineapple Salsa & Sprouts, drizzled with yogurt.

IMG_20180817_194023.jpg
My hand model is back on the job

Simple fresh Ingredients required:

  • Mexican Taco shells - warmed in oven
  • Hake - filleted and cut into portions
  • Flour, Egg & dried Breadcrumbs for coating fish
  • Pineapple - cubed
  • Green Pepper - cubed
  • Onion - cubed
  • Tomato - cubed
  • Spring Onion greens
  • Mung bean sprouts
  • Natural Yogurt

IMG_20180817_181302_1.jpg

  • Fish was seasoned, coated with flour, dipped in beaten egg and lastly in breadcrumbs and baked in a hot oven for about 15 minutes or till cooked - dependent on thickness of fish fillet.
  • Salsa ingredients tossed together and we're ready to rock and roll :)

IMG_20180817_190229.jpg

IMG_20180817_190459.jpg
Salsa, fish and sprouts stuffed into Tacos, lastly drizzled with yogurt.
IMG_20180817_191713.jpg
My proof photo
IMG_20180817_191626.jpg
All that could be heard was the crunching of Tacos as silence settled in the house and satisfied tummies stopped yelling for food!
This was a great change from the usual Fish & Chips!

I will quickly show you how to make Fish & Pineapple Salsa Tacos:

IMG_20180817_181302_1-ANIMATION.gif

Hope to see your sandwich entry into the awesome @jaybird's #steemitsandwichcontest Week #54 where you not only get to win some steem but also get to meet the most awesome people in the Steemit ocean!

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

I start greeting you, and congratulating for your good shots, the lovely recipe to share on a Sunday afternoon, Mexican tacos are very famous I think your recipe is very unique, for the nutrients and the healthy of the recipe, how is the grandmother Pleased to know of your health, and of your pampering, many affections for you. @lizelle

Thank you for your awesome comments @perlanacarada, much appreciated :) Mom is keeping very well!

I would actually try one of those, I will eat cilantro and onions on my tacos , so I could try those. It is a shame you couldn't get the ingredients for the taco shells, the homemade shells are the best, plus you can make them whatever size you want.

Oh I would love to eat a homemade taco shell, must taste so much better! Thanks for stopping by Mr Papper :)

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Thank you very much!

It turns out that Marian likes Mexican food and made a lot of it during her hotel school days. I showed her this and am waiting for surprises! Blessings!

This sounds promising @papilloncharity, i hope you get a homemade taco surprise!

Very nice! Fish and pinaple tacos sound amazing! Love the little sprouts add too.

I also did not realize that an authentic taco was a 2 ingredient creation. Wondeful :)

Funny abt fox news lol. Do they ever know what they’re talking abt?

Like this simple yet obviously effective meal. Pres is vibrant !

Thank you for your great feedback @jaybird, always look forward to that!

I make my own tortillas, but I can find the flour here! I also like to add dried chilli pepper flakes into the dough before I cook them. We don't have hake but red snapper will have to do. I really like the pineapple salsa! I happened to have a fresh snapper so this was perfect for lunch. My problem was I had to make extras because the little Cling-ons decided that the fish tacos were the best! For someone who had never made tacos before, you have done an awesome job! Good luck in the contest!

Thank you @cecicastor, I would love to have a homecooked tortilla! Glad you enjoyed the fish tacos, sure the red snapper was great!

Oh my god, can you please make me some of these!! I am craving in the middle of the night :'(

Oh ny word, I've made you hungry again ;) Thanks for stopping by!

So tasty @lizelle. Love the pineapple add! Adds a little spring to the taco. I haven't eaten hake, what flavor does it have? Colorful light taco dish, beautiful photos :)

Thank you for your lovely feedback @ birdsinparadise! Hake is a deep sea white fish, quite a delicate flavour and easily obtainable here in frozen form.

Okay so the title got my attention!! I love fish, tacos and pineapple lol!! These look so tasty and quite healthy too! 😊

Great... now Im hungry...

LOL thanks for sharing your delicious recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65