Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #21 - New Year Chip n Dip Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

My entry for @jaybird's Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #21
New Year Chip n Dip Sandwich
Perfect to see in the New Year with a glass of wine, champagne or a beer :)
IMG_20171229_182110_1-1664x1248.jpg
Made with everyday pantry ingredients, but deliciously different!
Ingredients
4 slices bread, crusts removed
Butter
Smoked Salmon Cream Cheese
Cheddar Cheese Spread
Marmite or Bovril
Spring Onions -chopped
Crisps - crushed finely
IMG_20171229_173629-1664x1248.jpg
Make one sandwich with cream cheese and spring onions.
Second sandwich consists of Cheese Spread and Bovril.
IMG_20171229_173831-1664x1248.jpg

Cut each sandwich into 4 squares to make neat cubes, spread butter or cream cheese to cover cubes fully.
Dip cubes in crushed crisps till nicely covered.
Serve immediately, or do this last step just before serving for a nice crunchy coating.
IMG_20171229_175122-1664x1248.jpg
Looks like a savoury version of those yummy toasted coconut marshmallows :)
IMG_20171229_182110_1-1664x1248.jpg
Slice each cube in half if a more dainty sandwich is on the menu - that's for the gals, the guys will happily gobble up a whole one!
IMG_20171229_205041_crop_762x716.jpg
Happy New Year everyone!

Original Content by @lizelle
Please comment, upvote and resteem if you enjoyed this, thank you :)
bitmoji-20171229094006.png

Sort:  

Oh this looks interesting. Creative indeed!

Lovin' the smoke salmon cream cheese, unsure about the marmite lol.

I don't believe I've ever seen a sandwich crusted with chips before tho... I like it !

Thanks for this!

That's Bovril it's completely different to marmite but just as rich! Bovril is beef extract! Whereas marmite is yeast extract but they have a similar saltiness, I love the idea of the coated in crisps crust I reckon you could fry them too

Now you're giving me ideas @owenwat, fried sandwich cubes...I like Marmite (nice for vegetarians) and the rest of the family enjoy Bovril! Thanks for the description :)

Thank you @jaybird, your contest certainly gets the grey matter moving, but this one had me digging into the memory bank! Chip encrusted sandwiches was quite the in-thing at parties way back in the 70s...yep giving my age away :):)

really....? I'll have to bug my rents about that 1 lol. I can se it tho. In either case, it got my attention !

This looks JUST like the pictures in my older cookbooks!

I love cooking and baking and tend to collect old-time cookbooks. Many have the strangest images, some looking more like Playdough creations (because of bright colors) rather than food.

When I saw your main pic I TOTALLY thought you got the recipe from times since past. Plus, I notice you're in South Africa, so can assume your diet and ingredients are much different than mine (USA).

What I find most interesting about this creation is that it's ALL creamy. There's no real thing to chew. I suppose the onions would give it a crunch....Oh! And the outside with crisps! Genius!

I love the pics! I honestly, don't believe I will ever have access to all of the ingredients to give it a go, but was happy to get to learn about it.
Have a great day!

Lol you were spot on, really appreciate your comments @carrieallen, hope you manage to make them one day. Very creamy and quite rich but lovely with an ice cold drink. We're in the midst of summer here in South Africa & you're freezing :)
One has to eat them right away or the crunch disappears, try your own version with plain cream cheese as your base ingredient.
The last day of 2017 starting here, wishing you an awesome 2018 :)

bitmoji-20171231063546.png

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Wow thank you for the nomination @qurator, awesome!

Nice sarmies @lizelle easy and convenient ways to make snacks that are healthy and yummy.

Most people I know either love Bovril or Marmite, either or never met anyone who enjoys both, myself I prefer Marmite.

I also prefer Marmite but the rest of the family are Bovril fans :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lizelle to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64