Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #4 - Tuna Grilled Cheese(s) on Homemade Garlic Potato Bread

Sometimes the bread of a sandwich serves to hold it all together and provide a clean way to get the inside of the sandwich to your mouth.

dJI6A4928.jpg

And other times, the bread is an integral part of the flavors that make the sandwich what it is.

In this case, this roasted garlic and herb potato bread is not simply the vehicle for the other ingredients of the sandwich. The bread plays a lead role, not an extra in the background, in this Tuna Grilled Cheese(s) Sandwich.

dJI6A4820.jpg

dJI6A4924.jpg

Ingredients

  • Flavorful bread (In this case, I used my homemade Roasted Garlic and Herb Potato Bread)
  • Solid white tuna
  • Mayo
  • Celery salt
  • Garlic powder
  • Sliced cheddar cheese
  • Sliced smoked gouda cheese
  • Homegrown fresh basil, torn
  • Homegrown sliced tomato
  • Pesto

dJI6A4910.jpg

Steps

  • Combine the tuna, mayo, celery salt, and garlic salt with a fork.
  • Build the sandwich with the other ingredients, making sure that the cheese slices are contacting the pesto-smeared bread.

Assembly

sandwich montage.jpg

Once the sandwich is assembled, grill it up.

dJI6A4912.jpg


dJI6A4923.jpg

dJI6A4922.jpg


With its crispy bite, the creamy melty tuna and smoky cheese, the fresh acidic summer tomato, and herby, nutty basil and pesto, this sandwich was quite well-enjoyed. The mellow garlic potato bread added immensely to this sandwich, with a full flavor profile of its own contributing to the flavors of the sandwich as a whole.

dJI6A4926.jpg


Thanks to @jaybird for hosting this great challenge and engaging the community. To learn more about the Steemit Sandwich Contest, a weekly contest sponsored by the fab @papa-pepper, head over to @jaybird 's blog or check out this week's contest post here.


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and images by @jaymorebeet, taken on August 31, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

That's a good way to utilize that delicious looking bread! I love a good tuna melt and this one looks excellent.

Thanks @jeffjagoe. I'm not a lifelong fan of tuna melts, but the more I know them, the more I like them :)

While looking at the bread post earlier, i was guessing that you would do a wonderful sandwich with it...and here you are my friend!
Beautiful entry once again!
Good luck my friend!
@progressivechef

I bet that tasted amazing! Great lookin' sandwich

im thinking this will be hard to beat! i made russian potato bread with cheese and herbs, so good toasted with butter, im hungry! :)

I wonder if it's the potatoes that make the bread toast so well? I have no idea but it really does toast up nicely. I want to see your russian potato bread! Did you make a post?? Thanks @owenwat!

Congratulations @jaymorebeet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Look yummy ! I'm hungry!! I want to try it 😖

It looks very yummy my dear! You make me hungry! I like the tuna in sandwich, good luck .

Nom nom nom. Love this bread. I mean, garlic and potato are just the greatest combo. They sound great together. I just woke up and you are making me hungry @jaymorebeet o:p

Sweet Entry. Garlic Potato Bread Looks Freakin' amazing! How good does that taste!

Totally correct in that sometimes it is about the bread!

Here it seems like it's about the combination of ingredients.

This a great little take on a classic tuna melt. Love the double cheese (as you know I often do that) and torn basil lol....

And then you go and add the tuna and cheese melt to the bread braid. It just keeps getting better. I'm a big fan of this type of sandwich to start with. Tuna and good cheese go together like a good movie and chocolate chip cookies. Please add this to the list of things to mail to me, for more testing. And have a most wondrous day as well (would be hard not too, with such a sandwich waiting at the end).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61